Jump to content
Jason Durall

RuneQuest Core Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

On 5/9/2019 at 8:02 PM, tnli said:

Is Steal Breath sorcery spell supposed to generate 1d6 magic points per combat round?

From the first sentence of the spell: 

     This spell allows the caster to convert 3 cubic meters of air into 1D6 magic points per round

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/10/2019 at 11:28 AM, Cloud64 said:

This question concerns the SR on which a hit is made after moving and  drawing weapon at the same time.

It takes 5 SR to draw a weapon and this can be done while running towards an enemy (p195 "actions such as readying a weapon and movement may be combined, so long as they do not seem improbable").

Correct. The gamemaster should be the judge of what seems possible here. 

 

On 5/10/2019 at 11:28 AM, Cloud64 said:

The situation is this: a troll runs towards the adventurer whilst drawing his maul. The distance to the adventurer is 15m, therefore takes 5 SR to move, the same 5 SR is used to draw the weapon. Going by the rules, it seems that the troll then stands there for the weapon's total SR, waiting to be hit, before hitting the adventurer, any advantage from the charge being lost.

You could also just say the troll charges slightly later in the round, arriving on their normal strike rank + 5 strike ranks for the movement. 

 

On 5/10/2019 at 11:28 AM, Cloud64 said:

This feels wrong, though the logic of getting the weapon out and getting it in a usable position makes sense. We played it by just adding the troll's DEX SR onto the total with movement.

So the question is, if a weapon is drawn, is the SR for a hit equal to

  • 5 to ready + weapon SR + DEX SR + SIZ SR

Generally, yes. 

 

On 5/10/2019 at 11:28 AM, Cloud64 said:

regardless of situation?

I would almost never say "regardless of situation" because that's a surefire way to create more unnecessary complexity or confusion with the rules. 

The fundamental conceptual problem here (and it's not just you) is that the RQ rules have never been clear about whether strike ranks are an action point allowance or a simple determiner of who acts first. Most of the time these issues come up is when they start becoming action points vs. speed of attack. 

It may help to emphasize your interpretation of strike ranks solely as the latter (determining who goes first, etc.), and all additional actions or modifiers to strike ranks are simply changing that speed in which everyone can attack. 

  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/15/2019 at 8:05 AM, lordabdul said:

Looks like this wasn't reported yet:

  • First Aid, p149: in the example, Sorala gets a special success but it says her player rolls 1D3+3. As per the rules above it should be 2D3?

Yes, it should be 2D3. 

On 5/15/2019 at 8:05 AM, lordabdul said:
  • Range Categories, p152: the paragraph for "In Sight" ends abruptly ("The gamemaster may choose to change the time scale from melee rounds to").

This is from the first printing (now corrected). 

The sentence should end "to turns, if desired." 

 

On 5/15/2019 at 8:05 AM, lordabdul said:

I see a few typos or layout issues in the PDF that are fixed in the printed book. Is the PDF going to be updated? Would that send some email notification to us?

We've updated the .pdf several times since its initial release. I'm not sure what the process of sending updates is, but you can re-download from whatever vendor you bought it from and it should be up-to-date. 

 

On 5/15/2019 at 8:05 AM, lordabdul said:

Last, a couple clarification questions:

  • It's probably second nature to experienced gamers but I don't see anything about how the GM being able to apply arbitrary bonuses/penalties given circumstances? (like some bonus to Track because it rained recently and the ground is soft, or something) There's a paragraph on p163, just under "Modifying Skill Rolls", that probably addresses this, but it's unclear since it can be read merely as an introduction to the augment rules. More importantly, it doesn't give any hint as to what a proper range for those bonuses/penalties might be (should the Track example above be 10% or 40%?).

It's intended that the guidelines for augmenting abilities with Passions/Runes/other skills provide guidance for such benefits, but that regretfully isn't clear. 

Given that there's a lot of grey area in how much a particular circumstance might truly influence a task, it could be anywhere from ±5 to ±75%. I personally tend to believe that if a modifier is less than ±20% it's not worth applying, as the difference is something that should be taken into account with the adventurer's facility with the ability. 

 

On 5/15/2019 at 8:05 AM, lordabdul said:
  • Given the way the character sheet looks, I originally thought you just subtract damage from whatever hit location, and that's it -- glossing over the quick "...and to keep track of each separate injury!" sentence on p.146 at the end of the "Damage" chapter introduction. But it looks like, indeed, if you get hit twice in the left arm, you need to keep track of the damage for each of those two wounds? Is that correct? If so, how do people typically track that? Do you find there's enough room in the hit location boxes on the character sheet?

Yes, you keep track of each separate injury and thus you can apply Heal spells and First Aid rolls separately.

As for bookkeeping, I've seen people write little -Xs next to the hit location diagram entries, make notes in the Combat Notes section, or use a piece of scratch paper so they're not marking up their character sheet too much.  

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/17/2019 at 11:55 AM, HreshtIronBorne said:

Does a Shaman, Priest, or Spirit teaching a spirit magic spell lose the knowledge of the spell when they teach it? 

No. Why would they? 

 

On 5/17/2019 at 11:55 AM, HreshtIronBorne said:

Also, under the Priest and Rune-Lord Benefit sections it states they earn a 1- pt increase in cult spirit magic every year, does this mean bladesharp 6 would 'tick up' into bladesharp 7? Is this also the intent for how spirit spells are learned at incresing variables? You find someone with a bladesharp 7 and they can improve your bladesharp 6 to 7?

The 1-point increase is determined by the player and approved by the gamemaster, and is applied to one spell.

It might mean an existing spell increased by one level, or a new spell is gained from the list of existing cult spirit magic spells. 

You learn to improve your spirit magic by finding a teacher and paying them to teach you. Like any subject, they must know it themselves. 

The gamemaster should determine how available the teaching is and whether anyone in the desired area knows the spell at the desired level. It might be that some of the cost in L is for this research. It might also be that in some cases, a spell's higher level is only available from pretty rarefied sources. Someone with Bladesharp 7 is going to be a pretty intensely dedicated warrior, and might not have the time to spend it teaching magic to newcomers.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/23/2019 at 5:28 AM, g33k said:

Clarification needed on this thread (RE the DreamDragon in the adventure in the GMScreenPack) ...

https://basicroleplaying.org/topic/9632-dream-dragons/

The OP pretty much lays it out:  when a creature has more than one listed attack (which take place on different SR's) does the creature get ALL of the listed attacks, each round?  Or does it pick ONE to use each round (on whichever SR)?

Generally, there is a note saying whether the creature attacks multiple times in the same combat round. 

Otherwise, treat them like characters. The gamemaster should pick which attacks are the most appropriate to the encounter each combat round. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/3/2019 at 9:28 PM, Chekmx said:

Is there any resistance role for the spell Slow or is it always successful?

Resistance roll, as it directly affects another living being independent of something the adventurer is doing. 

For example, Bladesharp doesn't require a resistance roll as it's just adding to the efficacy of an attack already being made. Slow is affecting another being usually in defiance of their preference. If someone were to cast Mobility on an unwilling subject, that should probably call for a resistance roll too. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Asked elswhere, but I'll do here as well :)

"An awakened small animal (SIZ 2 or less, such as a cat, a lizard, a bird, etc.) with 3D6 INT and 3D6 POW." p83

Do they have CHA? What is it? Does this effect their ability to learn additional spells?
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since it isn't an actual visual change, but merely a distraction, does the rune spell "Invisibility" hide you and your spirit from creatures that have different senses (i.e darksense, heat vision, spirits/shaman/second sight, etc. )?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Increasing POW with Worship Rituals
The Worship skill allows a cult member to participate in a
Worship ritual to the deity specified. If the Worship ritual is
held in a temple, holy place, or sanctified ground on a holy
day of the god, the presiding officials (High Priest, Rune
Priest, God-talker, etc.) receive a POW gain roll if they
succeed with their Worship skill.

 

Do Initiates that have no priest etc available have the right to lead a worship service and gain a power roll? On a Seasonal Holy Day. Like at Apple Lane at the Temple of all Deities.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK a few questions about the process of becoming a shaman and the ordeal in particular;

So as I understand it

  • The horned man has a power of 35, which translates to a spirit combat skill of 175%
  • So anyone fighting him in spirit combat will be fighting at there skill -75%
  • Which in most cases in a 20% or less skill for the want to be shaman vs 100% skill for horned man
  • The ordeal goes on for 1 to 6 rounds which means, which means most shamans will get around 3 restrictions and the one usual ability.

My questions are;

  • Have I understood the process right?
  • What happens on a tied round where both pass skill?
  • If the shaman breaks off at the end of a round , does he fail becoming a shaman or just loose the opportunity to gain more shamanic abilities?
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question: Page 219, Mounted Combat:

 

The Lance: A lance can be used in a charge, a

straight run of 20 meters or more. If a target is hit

during a charge, the damage bonus of the animal

ridden is used, not that of the rider. If the adventurer

using the lance has had no training in its use,

they can use it at 1/2 their normal attack chance

with a one-handed spear, unless their Ride skill

is below that. It can also be used as a one-handed

spear if the adventurer has the necessary STR and

DEX to use a long spear one-handed.

 

The highlighted sentence is the confusing one. Where is this information located? What is the necessary STR and DEX to wield a long-spear one-handed? The weapon table on page 209 explicitly states only short spears can be wielded one-handed, as does the write up on page 211. Is there some universal rule stating that two-handed weapons can be one-handed with sufficient stats (eg. a multiplier of some kind), or am I missing something here?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What are the SIZ bonus/penalties in combat. We just had a fight with a really giant boar (SIZ 50) and ended-up using RQ3 rules.
What about other modifiers? Attacking from rear, for example?

There is a noted bonus for attacking prone opponents ("Anyone attacking a prone opponent adds +40% to their attack chance." p147), but I don't notice many others.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What does it even mean when an associated cult "provides Peaceful Cut" (such as Waha for Eiritha)? 

Everyone already has it at base chance, and I can't see that you gain any additional chance at it, so it doesn't seem to do anything by the rules. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Discorporation question. Shamans can simply discorporate, everyone else can only do it with a spell. What about assistant shamans? Can they discorporate at all? And if not, how can they ever become shamans, since discorporation is part of the process of becoming a shaman? And if they can't go on the spirit plane, doesn't that make it a lot harder for their shamans to teach them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Bestiary it says "Disembodied spirits can increase their POW by successful use of it, but their POW gain roll is only 5%."... So the same goes for Allied Spirit?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a character is a target of a spell that requires a POW vs POW resistance roll, can the character use runic and/or passion augment to better resist the spell?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Common Rune Magic spells table, which is repeated: 

p74  Summon Cult Spirit is not included
p317 Summon Cult Spirit is included

Which one is it? We've been playing the latter because it would be odd to Command a Cult Spirit but not Summon one.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/12/2019 at 10:18 AM, Jason Durall said:

 

Quote

Also, under the Priest and Rune-Lord Benefit sections it states they earn a 1- pt increase in cult spirit magic every year, does this mean bladesharp 6 would 'tick up' into bladesharp 7? Is this also the intent for how spirit spells are learned at incresing variables? You find someone with a bladesharp 7 and they can improve your bladesharp 6 to 7?

So, does this mean that if one wanted to learn a spirit spell that requires more than one point to initially cast (e.g., Darkwall, Lightwall), one would wait the required amount of years (2 for Darkwall as it is a 2 point spell and 4 years for Lightwall), or are they prevented from learning it as the cult only teaches 1 point increase?

Just want to know if there is an official answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/15/2019 at 5:33 PM, gochie said:

Since it isn't an actual visual change, but merely a distraction, does the rune spell "Invisibility" hide you and your spirit from creatures that have different senses (i.e darksense, heat vision, spirits/shaman/second sight, etc. )?

Yes to those abilities using conventional vision (darksense, heat vision, etc.), as the spell is magic invisibility, not tied to conventional real-Earth physics. 

Second Sight I would also say no to also, because the spell specifically eludes the viewer's notice, so someone would have to know where the invisible character were to see their POW. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Hunter occupation seems to lack the Survival skill. Most of the suggested cults would have it, but not Orlanth or Yelm (Grazelands). Is this on purpose, or should all Hunters have it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The core book tells you to check the Bestiary for information on either familiars or small animals. But the bestiary has information on neither. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...