Jump to content
Jason D

RuneQuest Core Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

The Magic Rune (page 382) and associated spells:

Quote

The magic rune in sorcery represents the theory of magic itself - the layout is a bit confusing as it is neither an Element, Power, Form, or Technique. The difference is that you can study Magic Rune in sorcery.

The Magic Rune can be mastered - it is a theoretical understanding of magic itself.

Jeff Richard

Can the Magic Rune be mastered like the other runes?

Yes

Is the Magic rune a free rune that all sorcerers receive automatically?

No

Is the magic Rune in the spell lists, a place holder for another rune, as with rune spells?

No

Spell Name (page 391)

Runes and Techniques Used

The presence of the Magic Rune indicates that this spell can be used with any Rune.

Delete this sentence.

Answer added to Q&A

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Moderator Mode: a reminder. This core rules questions thread is not a forum for discussion or debate. It is for asking RQG rules questions and clarifications, which will be answered by @Jason Durall, @Scotty (David Scott), and occasionally by @Jeff

You are most welcome to discuss/debate those responses; however please do so on another thread or go ahead and start one of your own. Feel free to use the @ feature if you wish to draw what you've said to any of their attention (though it is up to Jason, David, or Jeff whether they wish to respond or not).

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/26/2019 at 3:10 PM, SNaomiScott said:

It would appear there are two different versions of the Rune Spell 'Crack', one as described in the RQG rulebook, pg 324 and one as described in the RQG Bestiary, pg 94.

Here is the updated version which will appear in the upcoming Cults of Glorantha and replaces the two previous versions:

Crack 
Chaos, Disorder 
2 Points 
Ranged, Instant, Stackable
This spell must be cast at a non-living, non-magical object, such as a piece of armor, a weapon, or a shield. If successful, it causes the item to crack and break into many pieces. If stacked, more than one item carried or worn by the spell's target may be shattered at once.
 
If a spirit lives in the item, the caster’s POW must overcome the POW of the spirit to let the spell work. The spell has no effect on spell matrices, crystals, or on elf bows of magical nature. Temporal spirit magic, Rune magic, or sorcery does not make the item proof against the spell, the caster may boost with magic points to overcome the magic at 2 points per Rune point, 1 point per point of spirit magic, or 1 point per sorcery strength. The caster may also boost with magic points to help penetrate Shield, Countermagic or similar defensive spells. 
 
A Repair spell will fix a broken object.
 

 

 

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/11/2020 at 5:21 PM, Akhôrahil said:

The Invigorate rune spell is in the rulebook, but no cult has access to it. Is this intentional?

Yes. It's included as it's part of the Conversion Guide. See the Spirit Magic Conversion table on page 435.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/3/2019 at 3:06 PM, davecake said:

Summon Ancestor 

It says 'An ancestor can only cast Daka Fal special Rune magic, and cannot cast common Rune spells.' 

Yes.

On 6/3/2019 at 3:06 PM, davecake said:

Does this also apply to ancestors that you know to have known other rune magic in life? 

eg your great-grandfather dies, and you know he was also an initiate of another cult, etc

Daka Fal cannot access magic from other gods. That part of their spirit / soul has gone to their respective god's afterlife, beyond Daka Fal's influence.

On 6/3/2019 at 3:06 PM, davecake said:

How about Trolls who are initiates of Kygor Litor and also Daka Fal as an Associated Cult (or full initiates of both)?

Daka Fal provides Kyger Litor with Summon specific ancestor as an associate. As a Kyger Litor / Daka Fal priest, they would be able to access most troll ancestors and just their Kyger Litor and Daka Fal magics.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/3/2019 at 9:07 AM, Akhôrahil said:

The game states "Using an atlatl makes a javelin slower to use (it must be reloaded)".

Yes.

On 7/3/2019 at 9:07 AM, Akhôrahil said:

This is not reflected in the actual rules (same speed for Javelin and Atlatl, 1/MR).

The Javelin category also includes darts which are S/MR, becoming 1/MR.

Actual Javelins are slower as you would attack later in the round: DEX SR + 5 SR to load.

On 7/3/2019 at 9:07 AM, Akhôrahil said:

Is this an oversight? I have houseruled it to 1/2R (especially for balance purposes, as the Atlatl is otherwise just better), but it would be nice to see a ruling. 

An Atlatl is better (longer range, more damage, but harder to wield (different skill, need to get ready). Atlatl skill is not transferable to Javelins and vice-versa.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/5/2019 at 1:07 PM, Akhôrahil said:

Also about Phalanx: If you get a (Enc 2) weapon impaled in a shield, the shield becomes useless. But what exactly does "useless" mean here? Simply that the guy to your left doesn't get the shield cover from it? If you drop from six people to five in a (very small) shield wall, does that means the formation breaks up as it's no longer legal?

You no longer get the passive bonus from the shield for the purpose of phalanx formation, as you now have a big long heavy pointy thing sticking out of the shield, making it difficult to maneuver to keep in line with other shields. 

As the GM you can adjudicate whether this breaks up the shield wall or just makes it less effective. 

 

On 7/5/2019 at 1:07 PM, Akhôrahil said:

Funnily enough, getting a javelin (Enc 1) impaled in your shield has no effect when you're in a phalanx, as it halves your skill, which is immaterial while in a phalanx.

Combat is full of crazy events, and the rule about half-skill applies if additional guidance is needed. 

 

On 7/5/2019 at 1:07 PM, Akhôrahil said:

Supposedly, two Enc 1 weapons lodged in your shield should count as Enc 2 for shield purposes?

Use your best judgement. Clearly two daggers (ENC 1 each) are not equal to a two-handed sword or battleaxe (ENC 2) so I'd personally just say they don't stack unless they really begin to add up. 

 

  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/6/2019 at 1:21 PM, MMan said:

Clarification needed concerning how weapons should be mapped to weapon skills:

The melee weapons skills in character sheet mix weapons names and categories. For example:
- Skill: Kopis (specific weapon in category of 1H Sword).

The adventurer sheet entries were listed specifically to make it easy to list cultural weapons (pages 60-63). 

There's only so much room on the adventurer sheet and we wanted to cover the cultural weapons as well as having some blank spaces for additional entries. 

No one, for example, has 1H Sword as a cultural weapon, but several homelands have either broadsword or kopis. 

Does that make sense? 

 

On 7/6/2019 at 1:21 PM, MMan said:


- Skill: 1H Mace (a weapon category including 1H Hammer, Heavy Mace, Light Mace, Singlestick, and Wooden Club).
- Skill: Javelin (Javelin is both weapon name and category. Which one does the skill on the character sheet refer to?).

When there's only one type of weapon in the category, it is interchangeable. 

 

On 7/6/2019 at 1:21 PM, MMan said:

The character sheet is also completely missing any skills for all 2H Maces and 2H Swords as well as Thrown Rock and Staff Sling. These could be easily implemented as custom skills, but as the skills on the character sheet mix categories and specific weapons, it becomes unclear whether the new skill should be named by weapon category or by specific weapon.

As single skills. 

No cultures have 2H Maces or 2H Swords as cultural weapons. 

 

On 7/6/2019 at 1:21 PM, MMan said:

For example: If a character decides to start training with a Greatsword, what skill should be used? Would the skill name be  Greatsword, or 2H Sword?

Greatsword. Use of the Rhomphia or Sickle-sword are different enough that they are distinct skills. 

Or as a GM you can decide you like categories better and let all 1H Swords be used with the same skill, all 1H Axes, etc. 

 

On 7/6/2019 at 1:21 PM, MMan said:

What would be the generalized rule for creating new weapons and weapon skills? By category or by specific weapon?

Following the letter of the rules, first define the weapon category, the skill. You can combine them if you want or if it makes more sense.  

 

On 7/6/2019 at 1:21 PM, MMan said:

The Melee Weapon (All) skill description on page 186 states that "Each melee weapon has its own specific skill." This seems like a very concrete rule, but the character sheet as it is now, is not following it. Based on this, I assume that character sheet is in error, but some official statement regarding this would be welcome.

See above for the rationale for the adventurer sheet being designed to facilitate listing of cultural weapon skills. 

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/11/2019 at 3:18 PM, Akhôrahil said:

"To use the god’s magic, an initiate must spend Rune points equal to the points of the spell. The initiate’s maximum Rune points are equal to their CHA."

1: Is this Rune Point restriction per character, or per cult per character? That is, if you're "full" in one cult, could you join another in order to get space for more Rune Points through sacrifices in that cult?

Per cult per character. You can have up to your CHA in Rune points per cult. 

The advantage of multiple cult membership is of course access to more Rune magic and more Rune points to cast those spells with (and common spells which can be cast from either pool). 

The disadvantage is that you are required to uphold the responsibilities of both cults, which can be pretty serious and potentially in conflict. 

 

On 7/11/2019 at 3:18 PM, Akhôrahil said:

2: Are God-talkers, Priests and Rune-Lords similarly restricted? On the one hand, it says "initiate" in the quote; on the other, nothing in the description of the higher ranks says that this restriction no longer applies for them. I'm assuming the answer here is "yes", but I'm not certain.

Yes. CHA is the human limit. Some special beings, such as Tarndisi the Dryad from the Adventures book in the GM Pack, have more, but this is on a case-by-case basis and restricted to very special NPCs. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/15/2019 at 12:35 PM, Lev Lafayette said:

Asked elswhere, but I'll do here as well :)

"An awakened small animal (SIZ 2 or less, such as a cat, a lizard, a bird, etc.) with 3D6 INT and 3D6 POW." p83

Do they have CHA? What is it? Does this effect their ability to learn additional spells?

Most natural animals don't have CHA.

The rules for these minor awakened animals are admittedly brief, and a GM so desiring to describe them more fully is more-than-welcome to assign a CHA value as appropriate. 

As for awakened animals learning additional spells, again this is a fringe case and should be up to the GM to determine how this is handled. I'm personally inclined to say that it's the province of the gods, as even awakened animals don't necessarily have the patience to sit and learn magic as humans or other sentient races do. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/21/2019 at 5:01 AM, Kevinrune said:

Increasing POW with Worship Rituals
The Worship skill allows a cult member to participate in a
Worship ritual to the deity specified. If the Worship ritual is
held in a temple, holy place, or sanctified ground on a holy
day of the god, the presiding officials (High Priest, Rune
Priest, God-talker, etc.) receive a POW gain roll if they
succeed with their Worship skill.

 

Do Initiates that have no priest etc available have the right to lead a worship service and gain a power roll? On a Seasonal Holy Day. Like at Apple Lane at the Temple of all Deities.

No. 

  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/23/2019 at 12:02 AM, Jon Hunter said:

OK a few questions about the process of becoming a shaman and the ordeal in particular;

So as I understand it

  • The horned man has a power of 35, which translates to a spirit combat skill of 175%

The Bad Man, you mean. See page 355. It's a common mistake. It might be that they are actually one in the same, but such is the province of scholars greater than I to answer. 

 

Quote
  • So anyone fighting him in spirit combat will be fighting at there skill -75%
  • Which in most cases in a 20% or less skill for the want to be shaman vs 100% skill for horned man
  • The ordeal goes on for 1 to 6 rounds which means, which means most shamans will get around 3 restrictions and the one usual ability.

All correct, aside from Bad Man being a different entity than the Horned Man. 

 

Quote

My questions are;

  • Have I understood the process right?

See above.

 

Quote
  • What happens on a tied round where both pass skill?

Stalemate. Nothing happens. 

 

Quote
  • If the shaman breaks off at the end of a round , does he fail becoming a shaman or just loose the opportunity to gain more shamanic abilities?

No further abilities or taboos are granted and the spirit combat ends. On to Stage Five. 

 

Edited by Jason Durall
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/25/2019 at 3:03 AM, Ladygolem said:

Question: Page 219, Mounted Combat:

 

The Lance: A lance can be used in a charge, a

straight run of 20 meters or more. If a target is hit

during a charge, the damage bonus of the animal

ridden is used, not that of the rider. If the adventurer

using the lance has had no training in its use,

they can use it at 1/2 their normal attack chance

with a one-handed spear, unless their Ride skill

is below that. It can also be used as a one-handed

spear if the adventurer has the necessary STR and

DEX to use a long spear one-handed.

 

The highlighted sentence is the confusing one. Where is this information located? What is the necessary STR and DEX to wield a long-spear one-handed? The weapon table on page 209 explicitly states only short spears can be wielded one-handed, as does the write up on page 211. Is there some universal rule stating that two-handed weapons can be one-handed with sufficient stats (eg. a multiplier of some kind), or am I missing something here?

Use the weapon's normal STR/DEX requirements and ignore the last sentence, which is redundant. 

A long spear or lance cannot be used one-handed whilst on foot, but while mounted it can be, as the distribution of weight, the ease of balance, and the method of use are quite different. 

There is no cut-and-dried rule for using a two-handed weapon one-handed, but a suggestion might be to multiply the minimum STR by 1.5 (rounding up) to determine its one-handed minimum requirement. Thus a greatsword (min STR 11) would require a STR 17 to use at full skill. 

 

  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 7/28/2019 at 8:03 AM, Lev Lafayette said:

What are the SIZ bonus/penalties in combat. We just had a fight with a really giant boar (SIZ 50) and ended-up using RQ3 rules.
What about other modifiers? Attacking from rear, for example?

There is a noted bonus for attacking prone opponents ("Anyone attacking a prone opponent adds +40% to their attack chance." p147), but I don't notice many others.

I offer bonuses or penalties along the lines of augmenting ability rolls (core rules, page 145) for appropriate conditions or situations.

For example, attacking an unaware opponent from the rear might be a +50%, or +30% if it is somewhat aware, and maybe only +20% if it is aware and actively trying not to be attacked from behind.  

It's one of those things I wish I'd made more explicit in the rules. 

 

  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/1/2019 at 4:35 PM, Akhôrahil said:

What does it even mean when an associated cult "provides Peaceful Cut" (such as Waha for Eiritha)? 

Everyone already has it at base chance, and I can't see that you gain any additional chance at it, so it doesn't seem to do anything by the rules. 

"Provides" as in "Provides training in" as per cult-based skill training. 

 

 

  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/2/2019 at 12:20 AM, Glorion said:

Discorporation question. Shamans can simply discorporate, everyone else can only do it with a spell. What about assistant shamans? Can they discorporate at all? And if not, how can they ever become shamans, since discorporation is part of the process of becoming a shaman? And if they can't go on the spirit plane, doesn't that make it a lot harder for their shamans to teach them?

Assistant shamans can discorporate through use of the Discorporate spell, whether casting it on themselves or having someone else (like their shaman) cast it on them. 

Both Daka Fal and Waha have it as one of their special cult Rune spells. That's why. 

A full shaman may have both the Rune spell and the inherent ability, which is tremendously useful. Both take an hour-long ritual, but the Rune spell costs 1 Rune point to cast, while the special ability uses 5 magic points. Depending on the circumstance, either method might be desirable. 

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, gochie said:

Humakt offers Bladesharp 4 for free to initiates.

Does this mean a new Humakti adventurer has Bladesharp 4 plus the normal 5 spirit magic points, for a total of 9 points of spirit magic?

No, this is corrected in the upcoming Cults of Glorantha:

Quote

Those that have been an initiate for a full year are taught Bladesharp 4 for free, and more points in the spell may be purchased at ½ cost later.

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/7/2019 at 8:51 AM, Caras said:

In Bestiary it says "Disembodied spirits can increase their POW by successful use of it, but their POW gain roll is only 5%."... So the same goes for Allied Spirit?

Allied Spirits inhabit animals or sacred cult objects (RQG page 227) and are not disembodied. Treat them as normal.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/8/2019 at 5:48 PM, kirinyaga said:

Is the allied spirit disembodied ?

No. 

Allied Spirits inhabit animals or sacred cult objects (RQG page 227) and are not disembodied.

  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/9/2019 at 5:32 PM, Luxus said:

If a character is a target of a spell that requires a POW vs POW resistance roll, can the character use runic and/or passion augment to better resist the spell?

Yes. It uses the resistance Table , so RQG page 146. Augments to the Resistance Table. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/11/2019 at 6:48 AM, Lev Lafayette said:

Common Rune Magic spells table, which is repeated: 

p74  Summon Cult Spirit is not included
p317 Summon Cult Spirit is included

Which one is it? We've been playing the latter because it would be odd to Command a Cult Spirit but not Summon one.

The latter, the table on page 275 is correct and contains the context.

  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, gochie said:

Sorry, but aren't adventurers initiated at the age of 16, and thus have been for 5 years already at start of play?

Playing inexperienced characters is covered on page 25. If you want to alter the adventurer creation system for your games by doing Step 2 last and adding in cult advancement, please do. 

Quote

And if this was right, it would strongly encourage new Humakti adventurers to not select Bladesharp at all at start of play, since they would be getting it later for free... Surely this is not intended?

There's no right or wrong with this. At my table not selecting Bladesharp at the start of play would allow richer roleplaying opportunities later (finding a temple and teacher, etc).

Edited by Scotty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/19/2019 at 9:11 PM, Brootse said:

The Hunter occupation seems to lack the Survival skill. Most of the suggested cults would have it, but not Orlanth or Yelm (Grazelands). Is this on purpose, or should all Hunters have it?

It is on purpose. Everyone has the skill at 15% plus knowledge bonus. Your homeland may give you a bonus reflecting the land you are from. It may also be a skill your cult finds useful to your religion (page 275). Orlanth and Yelm do not find it useful. As a new adventurer spends time in their occupation, they may gain experience rolls if the skill was ever needed. 

  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, gochie said:

So would normal (21 year old) new adventurers have access to these 4 points of Bladesharp plus the 5 points everyone else gets, for a total of 9 spirit spell points at creation... or not?

No. If you want to alter the adventurer creation system for your games by doing Step 2 last and adding in cult advancement, please do. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/21/2019 at 12:13 AM, Uthred said:

The core book tells you to check the Bestiary for information on either familiars or small animals. But the bestiary has information on neither. 

Assuming you are referring to spirit binding, a familiar is a spirit bound into special cult-bred animal:

Page 250: Binding Spirits into Animals

Quote

A spirit can be bound within a mundane animal without INT but possessing all the normal physical characteristics (STR, CON, SIZ, and DEX), such as a bird, dog, shadowcat, monkey, etc. (see the Glorantha Bestiary for more information on these creatures).

Bestiary Vrok Hawk page 161, use as a base for other birds.

Bestiary Dog page 144, use as a base for other breeds of dog.

Bestiary shadowcat page 159

For monkeys just make a smaller Baboon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...