Jump to content
Jason D

RuneQuest Core Rules Questions

Recommended Posts

On 8/21/2019 at 3:42 PM, Marc said:

Wondering what the official view is on how often a character can actually leap using the Leap spell.  The spell description says a fully encumbered person can jump 6 meters high, or away, for the spells duration.  I assume that's not just once during the spell's duration. I'm going with once per melee round( plus you get your normal movement in that round ), but I could see arguments for once every DEX SRM.

Outside of combat, any reasonable number of times in 15 minutes.

In combat maybe DEX SR + 1SR per 1m so a character with a DEX SR of 2 would jump on SR 2 travel 6m, land on SR 8, not really enough time for another jump. Very quickly they would be disengaged. so apply the outside of combat version above.

Ultimately what ever seems reasonable for the activity required.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/2/2019 at 2:08 PM, Brootse said:

Are there wyters with less than 50 worshippers?

It's certainly possible to have one as the result of some calamity affecting its community.

On 9/2/2019 at 2:08 PM, Brootse said:

Do wyters get weaker if they lose worshippers?

That will depend on the situation causing the loss. I can imagine a wyter that has lost its community and only has a few magic points left being rescued by adventurers. 

On 9/2/2019 at 2:08 PM, Brootse said:

What happens to a wyter if the number of their worshippers drops below 50?

Depends on its situation. In all of these cases use the guidance on page 11:

Quote

When playing and gamemastering in Glorantha, let your imagination go wild. Ignore that voice that demands rational thought and empirical data, and draw upon your unconscious fantasies. Draw upon dreams, folklore, and mythology.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/19/2019 at 2:59 PM, Brootse said:

One of Humakt’s Gifts gives +10% to attack with cult weapon. Is this an artefact of previous editions that had separate attack and parry skills, and should it be +10% to a cult weapon skill? And is it a bonus on top of your current skill, or does it raise your skill by 10%?

This is corrected in the upcoming Cults of Glorantha:

+10% to any cult weapon skill.

It raises your skill.

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/19/2019 at 3:07 PM, Brootse said:

YVN7N97.png

Does this mean that you get 2 INT or SIZ points per 2 geases or 1 per 2?

For a 1 point increase to INT or SIZ you get 2 geases.

On 9/19/2019 at 3:07 PM, Brootse said:

And what does the "no limits" mean?

It means there is no limit to the value of characteristic you apply the Gift to.

On 9/19/2019 at 3:07 PM, Brootse said:

Can you raise the characteristics over the racial maximum?

Yes.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/24/2019 at 5:33 PM, Escorpion said:

My question is regarding bound entities (page 249). We can read:

"The bound entities are bound to the physical world by the life force of the binder. If the binder dies, all their bound entities are immediately freed."

Now imagine a magician that made several binding enchantments in different items, and summoned and bound entities in those enchantments, and during the next years some of those objects had been lend, lost, sold or whatever. When the magician dies, all entities go back to the spirit world according with that rule.

Yes

Quote

Now imagine that you are an adventurer that finds/buy one of that magical objects. Technically, you can wake up one day to discover that the elemental you had in your magical item has dissapeared.

Yes, but this is trumped by the rule below.

Quote

In a similar way, if you convince a shaman to summon and bind a new elemental into the item, the passing of the shaman will have the same result. Following that logic, most ancient magical items resting in ruins should have empty binding enchantments.

Yes, but this is trumped by the rule below.

Quote

Is all that intended?

Yes, but this is trumped by the rule below.

Quote

What if the adventurer use a dominate / control spell with the bound entitity at least once, does it means that now the adventurer IS THE LAST BINDER of the entity and thus, it is with the adventurer's death whetn entities get freed?

yes, if you think that's a cool way of resolving this issue there are dozens of other ways of this working as well.

The important rule is on page 6.

Quote

Maximum Game Fun

When writing, thinking, and gaming in Glorantha, always ask yourself, “Now, in this situation what is the most fun?” and then go with it. That’s Maximum Game Fun (MGF). Keep this principle in mind whenever you apply the rules of RuneQuest to any situation.

Is it fun to have the adventurers cool bound spirit weirdly vanish  - No - use MGF.

Is it fun to have all the ancient magic items missing a bound spirit - No - use MGF

Is it fun to get an adventurer to learn a dominate spell so they can keep their acquired bound spirits -Yes - MGF.

Do you need to explain why the spirits haven't disappeared - No - MGF.

 

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/25/2019 at 11:51 PM, Michael Cule said:

Allied Spirits are Initiates of the God that provides them.

Do Humakti and Yelmalion Allies get gifts and geases?

If they do what do I do if either gift or geas can't apply to a spirit?

No, allied spirits are divine companions sent from the god. They have no need to be more like the god.

Quote

Yelmalio is a warlike god and encourages his Initiates to work toward true embodiment of his divine self. Thus, he offers gifts to his Initiates in exchange for geases. Priests will explain that these geases and gifts will help the recipient to become a better Yelmalion.

Quote

All gifts and their associated geases are based on the same truth: by properly emulated his god, an initiate can become more like Humakt.

As allied spirits are linked closely to the recipient, MGF would argue that the gifts are shared already. For example a Humakti allied spirit in a sword may have received the 50% increase in hit points and so correspondingly can ride no animals (be carried on an animal). Not being able to eat vegetables is of no consequence. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/27/2019 at 11:05 AM, Brootse said:

If you have used all your Rune points, can you still ask for Divine Intervention by using your POW points?

No. It's powered by a rune point.

It could be argued that at the time that the adventurer could sacrifice a point of POW for a rune point (providing they don't exceed their CHA limit, and lose Rune rank) but that would be up to the GM, the situation and MGF.

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/26/2019 at 8:29 AM, Brootse said:

Can a powerful Dispel/Dismiss Magic remove multiple spells at once?

Yes. But it must completely overcome each of them.

Page 327: my emphasis.

Quote

When cast against a general target, without specifying any particular effect or spell, Dismiss Magic always destroys defensive spells first, beginning with the most powerful spell that it can affect.

A Dismiss Magic 2 against Protection 3 and Shield 1, would only knock out the Protection 3. 

Edited by Scotty
corrected incompatibility error
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/12/2019 at 5:44 AM, Pheres said:

Can a rune spell coming from a spell trade be placed in a matrix?

No. You cannot make what would effectively be a magic item for another cult.

For MGF your GM may allow it in order to further a plot - angry cultists seeking out the adventurer to recover the item.

Edited by Scotty
  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/17/2019 at 1:24 PM, mellowgoth said:

What is the area/volume of fire produced by the sorcery spell Conflagration?

1–3 Candle - size of a candle flame

4–7 Torch - size of a torch flame

8 & above - bucketsized - size of a small forge - enough to work metal.

Quote

If it is cast on the space containing a human, for instance, would that human take damage to only one hit location, or is enough to , say, catch both legs.

Page 392:

Quote

The fire does not move, although it will spread if flammable material is nearby.

use this in conjunction with the fire rules on page 157. It's a small fire.

Bear in mind that a human hit with an Intensity 8 or above conflagration on anything but a limb is likely dead.

Quote

Would a higher strength spell correspond to a bigger fire?

No, a hotter flame.

This where an adventurer with research could create a new spell based on Conflagration that increased area instead of intensity. 

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/18/2019 at 12:28 PM, skoll said:

Do Bladesharp and True Sword stack?

Yes. Neither spells' description forbids it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/24/2019 at 7:59 AM, lordabdul said:

Small errata: RQG p250 says to see Spirit Combat on page 336, but it's actually page 366.

Thanks

Quote

Question: in the Spirits & The Spirit World chapter, it says:

Within a range of 1 meter per point of the sensing spirit’s POW, spirits can sense the POW of other spirits to within 10 points, 5 points above or below their own.

Does that mean they can estimate the POW score of the other entity, but if that other entity has a POW that is 5 points above or below their own, they can only say "it's way stronger/weaker than me"?

Yes.

I use feels stronger (above 5pts), feels similar (within +/- 5pts), feels weaker (below 5pts). I avoid way stronger unless I want them to back away.

Edited by Scotty
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/30/2019 at 11:03 PM, Michael Cule said:

I've probably asked this before but shouldn't fighting a dozen spirits be harder than fighting one?

Not if your occupation is shaman. However the more spirits, greater the chance that one will attack will get through. If you want to make it harder for a shaman, mob them.

On 10/30/2019 at 11:03 PM, Michael Cule said:

A shaman character in my campaign has just fought three  Disease Spirits at once. None of them had any chance of getting through his defences without critical hits. This seems wrong.

Shaman are the spirit specialists of Glorantha. I always have the disease spirit disengage and go for a softer target...

On 10/30/2019 at 11:03 PM, Michael Cule said:

And on the matter of disease spirits: is the chance to steal POW from a disease spirit limited to someone who has been successfully attacked by the spirit who then throws them out? The use of the word 'victim' in the rule seems to indicate that and that's how I ruled but it isn't really clear. 

Yes.

The victim has the disease and if they successfully drive it out themselves, they gain immunity and a POW reward. Casting Fight disease on a victim really helps. A shaman does not gain the benefits when driving the spirit out of a victim.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/3/2019 at 1:54 PM, Puckohue said:

On the Rune Spell Soul Sight (p. 340):

Can the caster also tell what cult a person is initiated into?

No. As stated in the spell description:

Quote

merely that they have been initiated into a cult.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/7/2019 at 9:32 PM, Puckohue said:

One of the adventurers in my group received an iron ingot as a family heirloom. How does he get it enchanted?

The appendix in the Gamemasters Pack says that (p. 120)

but the spell is not listed as a common Rune spell, and none of the cults in the rules have the Rune spell Enchant (metal).

The following cults in RQG have Enchant Iron:

Babeester Gor - page 289

Humakt - page 297

Lhankor Mhy - page 298

Orlanth - page 302

Storm Bull - page 305

In the upcoming Cults of Glorantha, these additional cults have enchant iron:

Lanbril, Valind, Ygg, Yanafal Tarnils, Aranea, and Yelorna,

Edited by Scotty
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/7/2019 at 9:32 PM, Puckohue said:

Rune spell Enchant (metal).

The spell description says the Rune used varies with the metal, but I can't find any information on what Rune is associated with iron.

It's the Death Rune.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/21/2019 at 8:37 AM, buckwheats said:

On page 73 of the RQG it says under Cult Starting Skills

"Each cult has starting skills taught to its members. Add the listed skill bonuses to these skills. Add an additional +20% to one of these starting skills and+15% to another. In addition, all initiates start with the following skill bonuses: Cult Lore (deity) +15%, Worship (deity) +20%, Meditate +5%."

Does that mean, that those additional +20%/+15% can’t be allocated to Cult Lore (deity), Worship (deity) or Meditate?

Perhaps it’s just a misleading wording, because I think that those three skills (Cult Lore, Worship, Meditate) are cult starting skills as well.  

There's no reason why you can't add the bonuses to  Cult Lore (deity), Worship (deity) or Meditate if you want.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/3/2019 at 7:46 AM, Luxus said:

When Dispel magic 2 or Dismiss magic 1 is cast on a character with 2 point spirit magic spell (for example Bladesharp 2) or 1 point rune spell (for example True sword) in effect, does the caster have to succeed in a POW vs POW resistance roll?

These are spells cast on a weapon, the weapon has no POW to resist with, so no. If the weapon contained an allied spirit, - that has POW, so yes.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/3/2019 at 11:45 AM, Akhôrahil said:

Engizi does not have Worship (Engizi) as cult skill. Is this intentional?

No. This is corrected in the upcoming Cults of Glorantha.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/14/2019 at 8:24 AM, Bill the barbarian said:

Can one combine RPs from several sources to fuel a spell of greater potency then one can supply oneself Is there a limit or cap to this, and is it CHA? Seems to me that the temple ate by a dragon was the target of a 20 year multi-being spell/ritual.

Can one combine MPs from several sources to fuel a spell. Same follow up, is there a limit a and what is that limit?

MGF dictates that there is no limit. You just need sources and the more points, the more time.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/21/2019 at 7:56 PM, Richard S. said:

Do votive images automatically give you back a Rune point every holy day that they remain in the temple or just on the day that you put them there?

Votive images automatically give you back a Rune point every Seasonal and High Holy day only, per image.

If you had 3 votive images in your temple you would automatically regain 3 RP on the seasonal and high holy days without having to make a worship roll.

Remember that you need to convince the priest with your Loyalty (temple) to place each one, if there is space...

Edited by Scotty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/22/2019 at 9:52 PM, PhilHibbs said:

Our clan was hosting a major Sacred Time ceremony when a trickster cast a powerful Group Laughter spell that covered several hundred people. We think it must have been around 20 points, and also suspect that a lot of Extension was also used. Obviously we see the funny side of all this, even a few days later, but in all seriousness we need to do something about it.

My question is: when we muster enough points of Dismiss Magic, will one casting be sufficient to dispel the effects of the entire spell on everyone, or will we need to cast it on each victim individually? If the latter, then we will need to enlist the aid of our wyter.

As the spell is centred on the caster one a single Dismiss Magic would work. However as Eurmal's magic is clearly MGF,  you would need to cast it on each victim...

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/1/2020 at 1:01 PM, Tindalos said:

Given hunters are skilled at operating traps for hunting food, as well as dealing with prey animals (page 69) shouldn't they start with the Peaceful Cut and Devise skills?

All adventurers start with Peaceful Cut (10%) and Devise (5%). Note that in the game system chapter, page 141 says:

Quote

Many abilities are normal functions that anyone can perform. Walking across a room or opening a door can be said to be abilities, but every adventurer is considered competent enough to perform these actions without checking to see if they were successful. The adventurer is assumed to have an automatic success.

For any ability performed in a dramatic circumstance, an ability roll is required.

No.

A hunter will have no problem in butchering and setting traps, most use being automatic. Only dramatic circumstance needs a roll.

If you want to emphasise your adventurer's ability with these abilities, this where you use the personal skill bonuses in Step 7 to emphasise you adventurer's prowess in these areas.

Note that the occupational skill roll for hunters is either Track or Animal Lore for determining income (pages 422 & 423).

Finally on page 64, it says:

Quote

The gamemaster and players are encouraged to modify these occupations to fit their purposes.

This could include swapping out some skills for others, or spreading the bonuses thinner over a wider range of skills, or both.

Edited by Scotty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/11/2020 at 11:04 AM, Akhôrahil said:

What happens when you drop below a Rune Point requirement for a cult position, due to one use spells or DI? Reasonably, that should result in a suspended position similar to when a Priest drops below 18 POW, but it's not in the rules.

All covered in the rules

God-talkers use the same rules as Rune Priests (RQG page 278)

Rune Lords are unaffected as their status is CHA based, so no rule needed.

Rune Lord-Priests are effectively treated as Rune Priests (RQG page 281)

Chief or High Priests have no Rune Point requirement for their rank.

Quote

Does anything happens to cult status if an Initiate drops to 0 permanent Rune Points (again, due to DI or one-use spells, for instance)?

No.

On 3/14/2020 at 1:46 PM, Akhôrahil said:

A Rune Lord might still drop below the skill requirements due to characteristic loss, such as from aging. Does that result in no effect once you're already admitted, being put on probation, or getting booted out? Or is that a GM call?

If an adventurer loses characteristics and falls below rune level requirements, it's up to the GM to decide what repercussions there are, if any.

Edited by Scotty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/11/2020 at 2:00 PM, Akhôrahil said:

Who counts as a "person" for purposes of the Peace rune spell? Having the Man rune? Are Dragonewts and Dwarves people?

Anyone the GM wishes to include for the purposes of the situation, as per this part of the dictionary definition - "Person - a character in a play or story".

Edited by Scotty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...