Jump to content

Bound Demons versus Sorcerous Artifacts


Recommended Posts

In comparing Elric! to BRP Sorcery, it seems like a demon bound into an object is vastly more powerful than a sorcerous artifact.

For instance, I could spend 1POW to bind a demon with some sort of gruesome damage bonus into a sword, or with 100+ skill. A similar sorcerous artifact would cost ... well, you couldn't even do it. If you could do it, it would be at least 2POW, for always-on powers, times whatever level of spell it's considered.

In general, binding demons seems like a much, much better bargain than making magic items.

Anyone have any house rules on how to bring the cost of binding a demon in line with the cost of making a magic item?

I'm considering a rule that says its 1 permanent POW for each (full POW) of magic points you spent on the demon and/or for each (full POW) worth of powers you invest in the item...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

OK, first, consider the cost of summoning the demon. Minimum 9 MP, more

likely 30+ MP to summon a "demon of attack" with skill of 100% and 2d10

damage bonus. Plus the POW vs. POW contest to bind. That's significant

risk over the sorcerous artifact. Also, to even summon a demon with

100% or better skill, it has to be a major demon with a minimum of 4d8

POW for an average of 18. That's a pretty steep POW vs. POW test.

In another thread, I posted how to get a demon with the minimum MP

spent, it would take about 19 MP IIRC (Minimum 9 MP to summon, plus

10 MP for the 100% attack/2d10 damage). But that leaves 4d8 POW

and 1d8 for the rest of the stats. 1d8 STR, DEX, SIZ and CON does not

make for a very "combative" demon. I'd houserule that you'd need at

least 3d8 in all of those, so add another 8 MP. Also, a demon of combat

without appropriate armor also sounds unlikely - I would houserule that

armor must closely match attack/damage as well. Say another 7 MP

to get solid armor. We're now looking at 34 MP minimum.

Now, using the Elric! rules, an equivalent demonic bound weapon would be

an eternal bind, not a regular bind. So, that's 3 POW sacrificed, not 1 .

I believe there was a correction to the Elric! rules somewhere, but the BRP

book does this correctly. The 1 POW bind is not permanent, it is short term.

So, unless you want to keep binding the demon to the weapon after each

bind lapses, you keep spending the 1 POW.


Edited by vagabond
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...