A question about dragons

Greville

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Glorantha and have a couple of questions about how people see Gloranthan dragons. I love the difference between true dragons and dream dragons, although it took me a while to get my head around.

What kind of dragon does a dragonnewt turn into? The book mentions ancestral dragons, but isn't clear if they are like dream dragons or not. Either way it's a good thing that they are rare.

I'm planning on them being like dream dragons for now, but am open to any interesting ideas.

Secondly, if dream dragons spring from the subconscious of a true dragon does that mean there can only be one at a time per true dragon? I like the idea of dream dragons being born of errant thoughts and desires, but then be their own beings out in the world.

Do a dragon's dreams always form into dragons? What other creatures are spawned by the sleeping dragon?

To be honest it feels like there are no right or wrong answers here, I'll go away and ponder a bit.

What are your thoughts?

The sacred sentence of science: "I might be wrong: let's find out." - David Brin

My Blog: http://grevsspace.wordpress.com/

1 hour ago, Greville said:

What kind of dragon does a dragonnewt turn into? The book mentions ancestral dragons, but isn't clear if they are like dream dragons or not. Either way it's a good thing that they are rare.

Dragonewts hope to turn into True Dragons.  Ancestral Dragons (also known as Elder Dragons) are the next level beyond.

1 hour ago, Greville said:

Secondly, if dream dragons spring from the subconscious of a true dragon does that mean there can only be one at a time per true dragon? I like the idea of dream dragons being born of errant thoughts and desires, but then be their own beings out in the world.

There's considerably more dream dragons then there are true dragons.  IMO Dragons are so smart that can multiple dreams at the same time.

37 minutes ago, metcalph said: