Elric vs Magic World

bustapc

IMO there are a few reasons to cinsder the Stormbringer/Elric! books:

First off they have lots of detail on the Young Kingdoms, and other places in the Multiverse.

Secondly they have setting specific rules, such as stats for Melniboneans, Creature of Matik,  information on the Elemental and Beast Lords.

Thirdly, there are some differences in the rules between the games, and editions. Sorcery, for example, is somewhat different between editions.

But since you bought Elric! you can see all this for yourself fairly quickly.

Chaos stalks my world, but she's a big girl and can take of herself.

1 hour ago, bustapc said:

I mainly asked because the Elric/Stormbringer books are generally pretty pricey. That said, I did manage to order Elric! last night for a very reasonable price, so... 🤣

Elric is high on flavour and the Young Kingdoms. The rules for Elric and Magic World are quite similar, but I am not an expert on either.

It is worth buying all the old Chaousium games/supplements, in my opinion.

Simon Phipp - Caldmore Chameleon - Wallowing in my elitism since 1982. Many Systems, One Family. Just a fanboy. 

www.soltakss.com/index.html

Jonstown Compendium author. Find my contributions here

Yes it is definitely worth for the vast amount setting specific stuff, including playable races, specific allegiance rules, creatures, npcs and starting scenarios.  Rules wise, in Elric! you get the demon magic that was cut out of MW.  But if you have Advanced Sorcery for MW you have all the demon summoning rules in Elric! and more.

And typographically Elric! is a much nicier book than Magic World. 

Edited by smiorgan

2 hours ago, soltakss said:

Elric is high on flavour and the Young Kingdoms. The rules for Elric and Magic World are quite similar, but I am not an expert on either.

It is worth buying all the old Chaousium games/supplements, in my opinion.