Inspired by the thread about Simple Contest Result question.
The Crit-Success-Failure-Fumble scale is little odd and confusing in times in HQ. Rules-wise it doesn't really matter what level you get as long as you get tie (and high roll) or higher level. Except that the rules state that if both Fumble they might both get some negative consequence.
Do you others note the level the player rolled? Is it same thing to tie with successes than to tie with failures? Or win with Failure vs Fumb
OK, let's be precise here. According to RAW, crit vs. crit, success vs. success & failure vs. failure are a tie only if both participants have the same roll. Else, high roll wins & it is not a tie as there is a loser & a winner.
Joe Orlanthi 5W vs. Bob Lunar 15W:
- Both roll 01, crit vs. crit, tie
- Both roll, say, 04, success vs. success, tie
- both roll for example 15, failure vs. failure, tie
- & finally both roll 20, fumble vs. fumble, tie, in which case: