Jump to content
MOB

Rules Questions and Clarifications

Recommended Posts

Please use this thread to ask rules questions and clarifications.

This question was asked elsewhere:

Q: When you layout the Sanity cards no value can be the same. Does this only apply to the Red cards? On the diagram (p.4) the Black and top Red card are both 6.

A: If you reveal a Red Sanity card that has an identical value to an already displayed card, please shuffle the duplicate back and draw another Red Sanity card. So, in the diagram the Red 6 card would need to be replaced by another card whose value is not 6. (In this example, the new card cannot be 3 or 2 either as they have already been drawn). Keep drawing until all cards have different values.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/28/2019 at 2:56 AM, edelgul said:

 What happens after "Steal" powers, if that completes the set? The set is discarded and the Lore rewards are applied before before the that players draws a card, correct?

A: That is correct.

On 2/28/2019 at 2:56 AM, edelgul said:

 Are the rules available in the pdf format? It might be useful for every player to have powers references for the first few runs.

A: The rules are not currently available in PDF format.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/3/2019 at 6:40 PM, Clevis001 said:

If I place a Teaching Assistant as a sigil, what happens if I draw the same sigil card? 

Once a Teaching Assistant card is played as a sigil you cannot reposition it later. If you then draw a sigil that goes in the same spot you'll have to play a defense card or suffer the consequences.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Lambda Futile said:
  1. Can a player use the "Gift" defense card on a player who has already left or was expelled from the library?

A: No

14 hours ago, Lambda Futile said:
  1. After having used the "Steal" defense card, does the turn player still draw a card?

A. Yes

14 hours ago, Lambda Futile said:
  1. When a teaching assistant is used as a grimoire fragment card, do I have to specify which type of magic it replaces?

A. No

14 hours ago, Lambda Futile said:
  1. What happens if a fragment card with the same type of magic is drawn later on?

A. The Teaching Assistant card is a generic placeholder for a grimoire fragment. You do not need to specify which fragment it stands in for, so this situation does not arise.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question from a backer:

Q: Question on the gift defence card because it’s not 100% clear in the rules. Can you gift a card to a player who has left the library? The description in the rule book does say any other player, but says nothing about if they have left the restricted collection that turn. If you can gift a card to a player who has left for the turn so they just keep the card going into the next round?

A: You cannot gift a card to a player who has already left the library; they are no longer an active participant in that round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, Klingsor033 said:

Received this nice game some days ago and one question arose

What happens when player one plays Premonition and when player two  plays Premonition afterward ?

Thanks ! 

A: All that happens is there are more cards available face-up for players to choose from.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, Lambda Futile said:

If a teaching assistant is stolen, can it be used in any way the stealing teacher pleases or does it have to be used in the way that it was used before, i.e. if it was used as a graduate student card, can it be used as a spell card by the stealing player?

A: As noted in the rules, Teaching Assistant cards cannot be taken by another player using the Steal Defense Card or gifted to another player using the Gift Defense Card.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Question asked on the Kickstarter page:

Q: So imagine you play premonition and reveal 3 cards from the deck. Next player wants to play premonition too. What happens ? Is it legit ? If yes, does he reveal 3 more cards ? If no, why ?

A: Yes, keep on revealing three more cards if the next player uses their premonition card. All that happens is there are more cards available face-up for players to choose from.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/20/2019 at 11:14 AM, Dr Mobius said:

Was able to play this past Friday.

Do Premonition cards get collected and discarded at the end of the turn, or do they stay on the table until they're chosen?

A: They stay on the table until chosen. If they are still unchosen at the end of a round (when no one is left in the library), they are discarded and reshuffled with the rest of the library cards for the new round. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

On 3/23/2019 at 8:21 PM, CKinTX said:

And, lastly, are there any plans for additional cards in future? I can think of a couple defense doozies. Maybe some blank cards for each category would be nice.

Would love to hear more: start a new thread in this forum and let's discuss!

Edited by MOB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/23/2019 at 8:21 PM, CKinTX said:

Played our first game of MU:TRC last night. One question was answered; that Gift cannot be used on a player no longer in the Collection.

But, another question popped up.

What might be the strategy behind the Silver Case and the Archive Box? We couldn't think of a good reason to discard either your sigils or grimoire fragments.

All I could think of is that a player may suspect that a card he's about to draw might be one he has, and playing the relevant defense would avoid that. But, that seems to be an iffy rationale.

So, what would be a reasonable reason to play either of these defenses?

A: They are defense cards of last resort and are usually deployed the final rounds of the game, when all your other options are exhausted. They enable you to hang on and stay in the round, if you are trying to go for the big points (10 in the last round, if you are the final player to leave the library). 

On 3/24/2019 at 4:04 PM, Lambda Futile said:

That's the way we see it, too. It is a last resort if your better defense cards have already been used.

Yes - like in the Call of Cthulhu RPG, sometimes you get down to desperate measures!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How do people interpret the effect of playing the Reflexes defense on the available sanity cards? It seems the intent is that lowest sanity card for the round is always removed after a player's turn ends, either to their scoring pile or returned to the deck.

The rules for Reflexes state: "The player discards the card that they have just drawn to the Library Discard Pile. This ends their turn without any further consequence." However, it makes no mention of the disposition of the sanity card for that player's turn.

Should it be returned to the deck as in an expulsion or left on the table? If the latter, would the black sanity card for that round carry over to the next round?
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/14/2019 at 11:55 AM, sean8223 said:

How do people interpret the effect of playing the Reflexes defense on the available sanity cards? It seems the intent is that lowest sanity card for the round is always removed after a player's turn ends, either to their scoring pile or returned to the deck.

The rules for Reflexes state: "The player discards the card that they have just drawn to the Library Discard Pile. This ends their turn without any further consequence." However, it makes no mention of the disposition of the sanity card for that player's turn.

Should it be returned to the deck as in an expulsion or left on the table? If the latter, would the black sanity card for that round carry over to the next round?
 

A: If a player uses the reflex card they are not expelled from the library and so will continue to participate in the round.  Accordingly, the lowest sanity card remains on the table. The round continues until all players have left the library. At that point there will be no more sanity cards available.

Sanity cards do not carry over to the next round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...