Runequest like CoC 7th Edition?

JPierson71

Hey all, quick question here. So I am fairly new to Call of Cthulhu (coming in with 7th edition) and love the mechanics of that game. Namely, the combat in melee. I'm curious if this new version of Runequest uses those same mechanics? The part I enjoy most is that when a "fighting" roll is made, the opponent also gets to make a fighting roll. Is that the same in this edition or is it just simply using "dodge"? Thanks all!

11 minutes ago, JPierson71 said:

I'm curious if this new version of Runequest uses those same mechanics?

No, RQG is a "grittier" level of combat (plus a lot more hand-to-hand combat weapons), though not dissimilar in concept. One makes an attack roll, the opponent chooses whether to parry with their weapon or dodge.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, JPierson71 said:

Hey all, quick question here. So I am fairly new to Call of Cthulhu (coming in with 7th edition) and love the mechanics of that game. Namely, the combat in melee. I'm curious if this new version of Runequest uses those same mechanics? The part I enjoy most is that when a "fighting" roll is made, the opponent also gets to make a fighting roll. Is that the same in this edition or is it just simply using "dodge"? Thanks all!

It's not the "same" mechanics; but it has the "same" feature of attacker rolling their attack and defender rolling to defend.  Dodge is one of the options, but so is a "Parry" which might done by a weapon, or a shield.

In any of the 3 cases (weapon parry, shield parry, or Dodge) the defender is rolling a skill in a way that parallels the attcker's skill roll.

Edited by g33k
Mobile keyboard SUX0RZ
  • Like 1

C'es ne pas un .sig

On 4/8/2019 at 9:06 PM, g33k said:

It's not the "same" mechanics; but it has the "same" feature of attacker rolling their attack and defender rolling to defend.  Dodge is one of the options, but so is a "Parry" which might done by a weapon, or a shield.