Jump to content

Simple Group Contest Boosts


Recommended Posts

I’m starting to run a HQG game using the Eleven Lights campaign but we’re all new to the system.  I’m trying to figure out whether victory level boosts in a group simple contest need to be bought before the contest is rolled or if they can be purchased retroactively.  By RAW, they need to be bought before the roll (HQG, p. 70).  However, in the example of play (Samastina’s Saga: Leaving Nochet, HQG, p. 72), a boost is purchased retroactively, to turn a tie into a Marginal Victory.


I much prefer the approach in the example of play, but appreciate thoughts from those more experienced.  Perhaps I’m misinterpreting something in the RAW?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Boosts are gained after the result is determined. So, you roll to see what happens, get a Minor Victory and spend a Hero point to bump it to a Major Victory.

Simon Phipp - Caldmore Chameleon - Wallowing in my elitism since 1982. Many Systems, One Family. Just a fanboy. 


Jonstown Compendium author. Find my contributions here

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If we follow strictly RAW you would have to buy the boost beforehand. I have never understood why it is this way. Also remember that the amount of points depends on number of PC participants. And, more RAW, you could only boost tie or victory, not failure. These both only on Group Simple Contests.

I think the example shows GM being a good GM and giving players the possibility to change away from the tie.

Now, reading more of the rules, I am not entirely sure if the rules forbid bumping the single roll on Group Simple contest. Only the example says that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 4/27/2019 at 5:52 PM, Nebuchadnezzar said:

By RAW, they need to be bought before the roll (HQG, p. 70).

As writer of the examples, this is an error in the RAW. The example is correct. This will go into the corrections page on the new Glorantha resource site.

If you've any other questions please ask.

Edited by David Scott
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 3
  • Haha 1


Search the Glorantha Resource Site: https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com. Search the Glorantha mailing list archives: https://glorantha.steff.in/digests/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@David Scott how about the boosting of only victory as the RAW says? How about bumping single rolls?

"A boost assures a clearer victory, should they prevail."

Does this mean that boost only boosts the collective victory and cannot bring the group up from a defeat?

Can you still bump up with a HP single rolls in Group Simple Contests?

As I now read the rules again there is nothing preventing bumping single roll in GSC. It seems that a boost is meant for getting something else out of GSC than marginal victories.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...