Jump to content

BRP 4th Edition Damage Question


Recommended Posts

Hello everybody! New member here! (Kinda pretentious to proclaim this, but I'm new to the forums and the system in general, so expect some rudimentary questions).

I'm not too certain if this question has been asked before as I can't find anything about it on the internet. Given that, can anyone fill me up on why "Full Damage" and "Normal Damage" is differentiated on the core rules for Basic Roleplaying 4th Edition (Specifically on the Parry/Dodge Matrix)? This is the same case for the retroclone G.O.R.E and the Quick Start edition. Maybe I've just missed something, but I've read the Official Errata/Corrections PDF of the Big Gold Book and "Full Damage" literally has no difference from "Normal Damage".

I'd appreciate a clarification, thank you.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

On the official BRP corrections PDF, it says this:

[Definition of the term “FULL DAMAGE”. The term “Full Damage” crops up several times in the Attack & Defense Matrix. Precisely, it refers to “the damage which that type of attack would normally do”. It is not the same as “Maximum Damage”]

Which confuses me even more. I'll give the book another thorough skim, I might have missed something.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you talking about the text on page 193? If so then a critical does the maximum rolled damage and you roll your normal damage bonus. So a person with a weapon that does 1d8 damage and has a +1d4 damage modifier would inflict (8)+1d4 damage (and bypass armor) on a critical, 1d8+1d4 damage plus the weapon's special effect on a special, and rolled damage minus armor on a normal success.

The footnote at the bottom of the matrix explains it and the body text around the table goes into more detail.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Nick J. said:

Are you talking about the text on page 193? If so then a critical does the maximum rolled damage and you roll your normal damage bonus. So a person with a weapon that does 1d8 damage and has a +1d4 damage modifier would inflict (8)+1d4 damage (and bypass armor) on a critical, 1d8+1d4 damage plus the weapon's special effect on a special, and rolled damage minus armor on a normal success.

The footnote at the bottom of the matrix explains it and the body text around the table goes into more detail.

You're a good man Nick!  I take back half the things I have said about you!

  • Haha 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...