Jump to content

Luxus

Regulars
  • Content Count

    26
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

5 Neutral

About Luxus

  • Rank
    Member

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    Runequest 100%
  • Location
    Finland

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Yes I have read it, but for some reason I couldn't find the part where it says that extension doesn't exist as a separate spell after casting. I hope that in the future Runequest rulebooks are properly playtested and proofread before publishing. So all necessary rules with complete info are in the actual rulebooks, and not in some forum, Q&A, Facebook group etc. I also hope that Chaosium learns from this and does a better job next time.
  2. Scotty has answered to this question, although I disagree with him (I think extension should be treated as a separate spell):
  3. I think "defensive spells" in the spell description means countermagic, shield and similar spells which protect against magic because it would be reasonable that disspell/dismiss first targets the defenses it encounters.. Not spells like protection or earth shield.
  4. But if it is not an independent spell, but manipulation of the earth shield spell to be extented, does it mean they are one spell? Does one need to cast the runespell dismiss magic with 5 runepoints in order to dismiss Earth shield 3 and extension 2 ?
  5. Moving this conversation here. If earth shield with extension runespells have been cast on a shield, how it is determined which spell is dispelled first? EDIT: since the post I originally quoted has been removed, I have changed the quote to Scottys answer.
  6. Luxus

    Ransom

    That's the way we have been playing it too. Just started wondering because sometimes prisoners armor+weapons are more valuable than their ransom. Iron dwarves especially.
  7. Luxus

    Ransom

    When someone is ransomed back, is he/she/it ransomed with all armour and weapons? If a prisoner has an iron broadsword for example, can the PC's keep it even if they let the prisoner go after receiving ransom?
  8. Thanks for the replies. So instead of "A caster may always use additional magic points to boost a spell, regardless of type. This is typically done to overcome a Countermagic or Shield spell, or other magical defenses." the correct wording for the rule should be "A caster may always use additional magic points to boost a spell, regardless of type. This only affects the chances to overcome a Countermagic or Shield spell, or other magical defenses." ???
  9. I had to dig up this old thread, because spell boosting came up again in our group: If all spells can be boosted with magic points, can also defensive spells (countemagic for example) be boosted? If demoralize spell can be boosted to overcome countermagic, can countermagic (or shield) be boosted with magic points when first cast to protect better against this coming demoralize spell? From rules p 248: "A caster may always use additional magic points to boost a spell, regardless of type. This is typically done to overcome a Countermagic or Shield spell, or other magical defenses."
  10. I started playing Maran Gor worshipper, but I'm not sure grim, wild and/or feral she should be? There are hints of cannibalism and human sacrifice in the RQG rulebook and in some other sources. How common are these? Do they practise headhunting? Collect hands of fallen enemies as trophies? Paint their faces with ash and blood? Practise scarification?
  11. Well, spell type could also mean variable type of spells and non-variable type of spells. You are probably right, but I hope the rulebook would be clearer on issues like these.
  12. In the rulebook on page 248 it says: "Boosting a Spell A caster may always use additional magic points to boost a spell, regardless of type. This is typically done to overcome a Countermagic or Shield spell, or other magical defenses." Does this mean that also runespells can be boosted with magic points? If for example Mindblast, nonstackable 2 point runespell, is boosted with 2 magic points, can it get past Shield 2 spell which provides Countermagic 4 ? Edit: typo
  13. Luxus

    Allied spirits

    Thanks again for the replies! Looks like I used a wrong term, what I meant was what is the level of the rune affinities (darkeness, water, etc. ) for the allied spirit? Should it be determined in the same manner as for new characters (elemental runes: primary rune 60% affinity, second 40%, third 20% & power/form runes: two runes at 75%) ???
  14. Some questions concerning runelords and priests and their allied spirits: - When runelord or priest gains POW, can this POW be given to the allied spirit like shaman gives POW to his/her fetch? - If not, can the allied spirit's POW increase on it's own, can it have POW experience checks etc. like player characters? - What is the maximum POW for allied spirit? Allied spirits for priests have POW 3d6, so max would be 18 + 3 =21 ? Allied spirits for rune lords have POW 3d6+6, so would maximum POW be 3 + 24 = 27 ? - How are the rune levels for allied spirits determined, just like they a
  15. Thank you for all the replies! I think at least majority agreed that 1) the 1 point runepoint loss is permanent and 2) INT and SIZ can be raised.
×
×
  • Create New...