Jump to content

Gamesmeister

Member
  • Posts

    70
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    Played since the late 70's, starting with Traveller, then moving to RQ, CoC, Stormbringer, Deadlands, D&D 3.5, HeroQuest, and now plummeting back into the world of RQ again
  • Current games
    No RPGs , currently playing Arkham Horror
  • Location
    Chertsey, Surrey, UK
  • Blurb
    Also a fan of Crystal Palace FC for my sins...

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

Gamesmeister's Achievements

Newbie

Newbie (1/4)

23

Reputation

  1. It says it's in the EU warehouse but is only quoting US shipping costs atm. Edit: nvm, just seen MOB's post, in the UK next week
  2. Pg 355 states that the fetch adds its POW to the shaman's POW against any contests involving POW vs POW struggles. I assume this resulted in the above correction, but it could be argued that only applies during stage three of awakening the fetch, as that's the only place in the rulebook that it appears.
  3. Also take a look at some of Ian Thomson's City of Pavis books, he talks a lot in those, particularly Vol 1 I think, about spirit cults and has many examples of spirit magic in the way you suggest
  4. Please explain... What @PhilHibbs says is very true, and Jeff seemed to be implying that the corrections document he referenced contained all the changes they were looking to make
  5. I don't see what that has to do with anything, we're talking about the rules in the current volumes, not previous ones. Bladesharp 2 is a magic spell that increases the damage of a bronze broadsword by 2 points. Truesword is a magic spell that increases the damage of a bronze broadsword by 1D8+1 points. Where's the difference in these two spells? I assume you're ruling this just because it mentions Telmori in the spell description of Bladesharp, but that doesn't make sense...Fireblade doesn't say it can hurt Telmori in its spell description, but we already know that it can. And reminding me that I can rule whatever I like in my game is unnecessary, of course I can. What I'm looking for is consistency in the rules so I don't need to keep coming to these forums every time I get a question. For example, Disruption doesn't mention Telmori, can that hurt them? If so, why? Surely(!) it's much easier to state that any (additional) damage generated by magic can penetrate a Telmori hide, and leave it at that?
  6. I guess we'll find that out when the book launches 😄
  7. Pg 120 of W&E Binding a Spirit: If one does not wish to put a bound spirit into an animal as a familiar, one must find or buy a spirit trapping crystal. Once a spirit has been bound within such a crystal, the POW of the spirit is available for the use of the binder. The spirit may not throw spells itself or take other independent action unless the binder is attempting to control more spirits than their CHA will allow. As per the above, please can you remove the entry in the Q&A that says bound spirits can cast spells they know, thanks
  8. Or you could, you know, admit you've made a mistake, remove some incorrect entries from the FAQ, and not add yet another one just to double down on that mistake?
  9. This looks like an interesting conversation, but for another thread 😄
  10. If that were true then a Fetch would never get a POW gain roll
  11. It also means that the spirit would get POW gain rolls rather than the PC, and raises questions about whether commanding a spirit is your only action of the round. Given that talking is considered almost instantaneous, does this mean you can command your bound spirit to cast a spell while you swing you sword at your foe? Is there a SR cost of commanding the spirit? If the spirit casts Fireblade, an active spell, does that mean the spirit has to concentrate on it rather than the binder? etc.etc.
  12. Honestly, I just think your interpretation is wrong here. I appreciate they're different versions, but RQ2 explicitly states that bound spirits cannot cast spells themselves, and there is nothing in RQG that contradicts that. Instead, W&E reinforces it by stating that a bound spirit may not throw a spell itself. There is nothing in the rules that supports the suggestion that the binder commands the spirit to cast the spell. You quote the following paragraph from pg 249 "Those in physical contact with a binding enchantment can mentally communicate with an entity bound inside (if there are no conditions to the contrary) and can command the entity to use its abilities." However, if you then read the following paragraph you'll see that entities have to be released to use their abilities. You can't just handwave that part away. Either they can cast their own spells, in which case they need to be controlled and released, or they can't cast their own spells. Conversely, Allied spirits on pg 280 specifically allows the spirit to cast spells. It's written in the rules on Allying a Spirit In other words, there's really nothing to support your arguments, but a number of rules and text to contradict it.
  13. First, please see Bound Spirits, pg 366 "Spirits may be bound into a magic crystal, or into a specially prepared object or animal as described in the Binding Enchantment section (page 249). The binder of a spirit can use any spirit magic the spirit possesses and the magic points of the spirit to fuel spells." This makes no reference to the binder having to command the bound spirit, it simply gives the binder access to any spells known by the spirit. Secondly, Binding Enchantment on pg 249 makes no mention of the spirit being able to cast it's spells while remaining bound. The only relevant rule in there regarding this subject is the following: "Some entities have knowledge or abilities which the wielder can use while it is bound within an item. However, many entities are not very effective when so trapped and must be released to be useful (e.g., wraiths, healing spirits, elementals, etc.). Without the use of a control spell, an entity can be released from an item to perform one function, and then it is free. If a control spell is used before the entity is released, then it can be commanded to perform many actions and return to the binding item. Control spells automatically work against creatures while they are bound in items." The first sentence confirms that it's the binder casting the spell, not the spirit. The only way the rules would work according to what you're saying is that I cast a Control spell on my spirit, command it to cast a spell, then release it from the binding enchantment so it can cast the spell, then rebind it back into the enchantment. Which would contradict 40 years of RQ, and be very inefficient to boot.
  14. Can they? I mean, YGMV of course, and you can allow your players to do whatever works for your game, but I would think that Shamans would be far too busy in the spirit world and doing their spirity things to also find time to worship a non-shamanic deity. I mean, if you want to have a Yelmalio-worshipping shaman at your table then go for it, but to me that goes against the mythology of the god and I wouldn't allow it. I'd also include Eurmal in that category - gods are quite jealous when it comes to sharing worshippers with non-associated beings, and I don't see even Eurmal being keen on his trickster spending all their time in the spirit world holed up with the Horned Man.
  15. 1) W&E pg.120 states "If one does not wish to put a bound spirit into an animal as a familiar, one must find or buy a spirit trapping crystal." This seems incorrect, as spirits can also be bound into enchantments as per the RQG rulebook pg 249. Am I right in assuming that's just a typo? 2) W&E pg 120 states: "Once a spirit has been bound within such a crystal, the POW of the spirit is available for the use of the binder. This seems to omit the rule that the binder can also use the spells of the spirit. RQG pg 366 states that "Spirits may be bound into a magic crystal, or into a specially prepared object or animal as described in the Binding Enchantment section (page 249). The binder of a spirit can use any spirit magic the spirit possesses and the magic points of the spirit to fuel spells." Am I right to assume that when a spirit is bound into a crystal, the binder can also cast spells spells known by that spirit, in addition to using the spirit's POW to fuel spells (its own or the binder's)? In fact, to clarify, is the following correct? Once a spirit has been bound, whether into a crystal, an enchanted item or a familiar, the binder can use the MPs of that spirit to fuel any spells they cast, and can cast any spells known by the spirit. The spirit itself can never cast spells while bound, unless and until the binder loses control of that spirit (whether voluntarily or not). Allied spirits obviously work differently from this, and aren't included in the above.
×
×
  • Create New...