Jump to content

Alexandre

Members
  • Content Count

    20
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

4 Neutral

About Alexandre

  • Rank
    Member

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    Been roleplaying for almost 30 years, 25 of which with BRPS (RQ, Stormbringer, CoC). Favorite game: Pendragon. In the last few years I have also taken up wargaming. For a while I have been involed with the Glorantha lists and fanzines.
  • Current games
    Pendragon, D&D5, RuneQuest 3, A World At War, John Prados Third Reich, Dominant Species, Labyrinth
  • Location
    Rome, Italy
  • Blurb
    40 years old guy

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Cool! A Koreanorlanthi shaman! I like that Thanks, Alex
  2. This is interesting and is a disconnect that is happening in my game. The assistant shaman has a strong rating in the Man rune (for maximum spell efficiency, if nothing else!). So he should be civilized, should like what is made by man (warm baths?) etc. but this seems to be contrary to what you expect a shaman to be.
  3. For some players I know this is worse than growing a third arm because of a chaotic feature 😉
  4. At the end, I ruled that disease spirits do MP damage just like any other spirit (although the damage is based on POW alone). If they succeed in an attack and the opponent does not, they get a second (opposed) roll to infect the target with one of their disease, starting at the acute level. Even though the second roll looks like a legacy rule (in RQ2 to possess a character you would need to make a second POW vs POW roll because the character could not be automatically possessed when his POW reached 0 - rather, he would cease to exist!) I thought that diseases are bad enough that giving a kind of second chance before getting ill would be fair. The disease spirit attacked the assistant shaman. Only once it could infect him with a disease but failed. At the end, they both reached 0 MP at the same time. So, even though the PC became unconscious he still technically defeated the spirit and so got the immunity and the POW bonus. Cheers, Alex
  5. The full quote reads: One might read it as meaning a physical attack, but since it is in the spirit combat paragraph I think there is no doubt that spirits have to materialize for one round to attack an embodied target. If both are discorporate there is no delay (column after). By the way, thanks a lot! I did not understand how disease spirits worked at all! I guess I am relying too much on previous editions...
  6. Hi all, in view of this week's big battle (spoiler for my players if they are reading this ) I have a few questions about disease spirits. First of all, from the Bestiary (p. 169): This looks like RQ2, except that the rules on diseases in pages 154-156 of the rulebook are from RQ3, i.e. with 4 degrees of illness. I think I'll translate it as "the first success infects the victim with the mild form of the disease. Every subsequent success increases the degree of illness by one". Again from the Bestiary (p. 164): However disease spirits only have POW! (They don't even have a spirit combat skill quoted, but this is simply fixed by just taking the POWx5 default). The problem is that the spirit combat damage table makes no provision for entities lacking CHA. I don't think the intention is to have disease spirits do less damage than other spirit types, so I guess I'll just add a 3d6 CHA. Finally, one general question about spirits. To be in the Middle World, they need to be embodied in something or they need one round to materialize, right? You cannot have a spirit simply attacking a character without a 1 round delay (they have to come out from their binding object, at least). Thanks, Alex
  7. Go figure! The first piace where I would have looked! 😉 Thanks a lot!
  8. Hi all, two quick questions about POW storing crystals. 1) How long it takes to recharge one? 1 MP/SR, the same as casting magic? 2) Is it possible to pass the crystal over to another character so that he can recharge it or use the MPs inside to cast his own spells? As the crystal does not need attunement so I would say yes. Thanks, Alex
  9. Playing mainly through roll20 these days, miniatures (or more precisely tokens) are a must. But whenever possible I always used them, I think they add a lot, and not just from the mechanical point of view. It doesn't matter if you use superbly painted 40mm miniatures or counters or even just dice, a physical representation of the situation helps to fuel the imagination IMO. In the last sessions we have been using Cry Havoc boards and counters...
  10. So the actual chance of special and critical is based on the final (reduced) rating? Because the third bullet of the paragraph could be taken to mean, in context, that the special and critical chances are based on the original value.
  11. The old RQ3 Viking supplement suggested one major scenario per year, actually. This time frame was consistent with how the previous experience tables worked, by the way. Basically between every adventure the PCs would accrue one year of previous experience (i.e., they would add the points indicated by their occupation to each skill).
  12. I just discovered the rule! 😂 We'll see how it works out in the next sessions.
  13. Actually this is may not even be necessary: Making an Experience Roll At the end of each season, each player can make an experience roll for each check on the adventurer sheet. If more than one adventure occurs during a season, the gamemaster may allow experience rolls after each adventure. (p. 415). We are going through SnakePipe Hollow which is probably quite intensive by today's standards, so I allowed experience rolls after one week downtime (rest & recover) in Alda-Chur, after the first big foray in the caves. I think the one adventure per season is useful to keep the campaign time moving, though.
  14. Well in my campaign the fighters have their primary weapon skill at about 90% (I think with the way char gen works this should be pretty standard). With bladesharp 2 or Strength and an inspiration it means 120% in almost all serious fights.
  15. Except that Heroquest works (really well) the other way around: You would subtract 100 (a mastery) from both skills, not the amount over 100. But ultimately I agree that the spirit of the rule is sufficiently clear (once you assume it works the same way whether or not your opponent is above 100% too) that it does not matter.
×
×
  • Create New...