Key Codes — ñ, Ñ

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, g33k said:

I cannot find any way to get these marks out of my keyboard:  Alt+n or AltGr+n or Shift+Alt+n all produce the same thing — no character typed

I am no expert (not even a little bit), but I remapped my keyboard years ago after reading Bringhurst’s book on typography — and then promptly forgot how I did it. I am still using X (rather than Wayland) on Ubuntu Studio, so the files are here:

• /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/

/usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/us has:

• key <AB06> { [ n, N ] };

At /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/gb (which gives deviations from the US set-up), I have:

• key <AB06> { [ n, N, ntilde, Ntilde ] };

So we conclude that the additional values account for both the AltGr+n and the AltGr+Shift+n behaviour. (I guess even setting AltGr as the modifier is defined somewhere!)

I have no idea whether Chrome OS uses those old X11 files. None at all. But I take it you don’t really need to type a lot of ntildes, do you, señor?

Edited by mfbrandi

NOTORIOUS VØID CULTIST

10 minutes ago, mfbrandi said:

I am no expert, but I remapped my keyboard years ago after reading Bringhurst’s book on typography. I am still using X (rather than Wayland) on Ubuntu Studio, so the files are here:

• /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/

/usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/us has:

• key<AB06> {    [      n,    N        ]    };

I used to do a reasonably-high degree of customizing my environment.
At a certain point, I mostly abandoned that; it had become time-sink of more time-spent-customizing than time-saved-by-customizations... pure coolth (and/or pretties) wasn't ever much motivation.

Now, it's most just ergonomics:  dark-mode with maximally-readable fonts, very-visible mouse/cursor, etc.

• Like 1

C'es ne pas un .sig

• mfbrandi changed the title to Key Codes — ñ, Ñ
23 minutes ago, mfbrandi said:

... But I take it you don’t really need to type a lot of ntildes, do you, señor?

'taint Murican, now, izzit?

C'es ne pas un .sig