Some questions about "Mind Control" (hardcover BRP book)

fredfr

Hello,

First, excuse me if I write badly, I'm not very good at English. I am French :)

1. Do I need to roll a d100 equal or below a "Mind Control" skill, before resistance roll against the target ?

2. And if the d100 roll is a failure, how much does it cost ?

3. Is it a power points vs power points resistance roll or POW vs POW resistance roll ? (power points fluctuate and POW is stable).

4. The text say : "Power Point Cost : 1 power point per 3 points of the target's POW (rounded up) plus 1 power point per additional combat round."
    I don't understand "plus 1 power point per additional combat round."

Thank you.

Welcome!

Had to dig out the Big Gold Book for this one, but:

1. Yes, according to RAW pages 110-112

2. 1 PP according to the same pages

3. It is power points vs power points.

Which is a bit here and there, as some powers use POW vs POW and others use power points vs power points.

And I'm still not 100% sure if the power points that go into the spell/effect are supposed to be calculated into "current power points" or not.

I rule that they are, but I'm not necessarily right.

4. The PP-cost is 1 power point for each 3 points (rounded up) of your target's POW to enable you to run him like a puppet for one round, plus 1 power point for each additional round beyond the first.

So a target with POW 11 will cost 4 power points to control for a single round. Controlling him for 5 rounds would cost 8 power points (4 initial, plus 4 for four additional rounds) 

I'm not good at explaining rules, but hopefully I helped a bit.

• Like 1

Hello,

Thank you very much for your answers

4. The PP-cost is 1 power point for each 3 points (rounded up) of your target's POW to enable you to run him like a puppet for one round, plus 1 power point for each additional round beyond the first.