• Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

8 Neutral

About CitizenK2

  • Rank


  • RPG Biography
    I've been playing RPGs since I was 13. The systems I have GM'd the most are D&D, Call of Cthulhu, and Vampire: The Masquerade
  • Current games
    D&D 5e, Vampire: The Masquerade, Shadows of Esteren, Numenera, Dresden Files
  • Blurb
    Love Call of Cthulhu, branching out into other Chaosium games!
  1. That is a very handy reference. :-) Two questions: 1) Can a character benefit from full credit from the Fighters Guild, the Thieves Guild, and a Cult? The rulebook talks about magical "credit checks" they can perform, but I wasn't sure if that was just intended to prevent a fighter from fleecing the Fighters Guild in every new city they visit, or if it meant a combined credit limit across organizations. Frankly, the former makes more sense to me. 2) Do GMs typically use Previous Experience as an alternative to the Guild credit, or in addition to it? For simplicity's sake I used the Previous Experience and ignored guild credit.
  2. I ended up running Rainbow Mounds. I created five PCs (4 humans and a duck), using the previous experience rules. I set four of them up as ex-mercenaries and one as thief apprentice. My hook into the adventure was that three of the humans came from Apple Lane, and upon returning to the hamlet, they discovered that their families had been victimized by Whiteye. Worked like a charm. They fought the Rock Lizards, fled from the ghosts, and navigated the lake to the room of three spikes, where they fought the 1 (!) Troll-kin guard and then defeated Whiteye and the cave troll. One of the PCs was a heavy infantry merc, so his plate armour was tough enough to stand up to most of the blows from the cave troll. They managed to hit Whiteye with a Demoralize spell on turn one that made his attacks all but worthless. It did take them awhile to get through that troll hide though! At that point there was only 20 minutes left in the meeting and we ended the session. Everyone enjoyed the one-shot though, and the system was well-received!
  3. Thanks for all the suggestions! I've read Rainbow Mounds, and I think I'll either run that or run a homebrew session. I've started creating some PCs, which took a few attempts to get the Previous Experience section right, but I think I've got the hang of it now. Thanks. :-)
  4. On a related note - when you are generating PCs for a RQ one shot, do you tend to use the guild credit and / or the Previous Experience rules? Or just give the stats that look right?
  5. g33k: Yeah, story hooks are key. :-) <removed question about militia previous experience. I read the section again and figured it out> :-)
  6. Any recommendations for pre-generated adventurers? I see there are a dozen in the "Fangs" PDF, so I figured I might just use that...
  7. I'm listening to the RPG Academy playthrough of Gringle's Pawnshop ... the GM reworked it so the PCs are ducks breaking into the shop before Lunar troops arrive to buy the artifact the ducks seek.
  8. Honestly, I could see some of my players feeling like the baboons are in the right since the item they are trying to reclaim was stolen from them. That's a big part of my aversion to that story. I'm gonna sit down and read Rainbow Mounds tonight. :-)
  9. Hi all: I'm going to be running an introductory one-shot of Runequest Classic Edition at our local roleplaying club in early March. This will be a 3.5 hour session, and I want it to be done-in-one. I've looked at Apple Lane, and the pawnshop scenario has left me a bit cold. The Rainbow Mounds scenario might have more potential. Snake Pipe Hollow looks cool, but is a bit big and quite deadly from what I've read. Any suggestions for good published one-shots I should consider? If not I'll just build up a scenario of my own. :-)
  10. Regarding the guilds that are willing to loan money to starting adventurers: do you generally play that a new PC can have debt to multiple guilds so long as the combined debt doesn't break the maximum for any of the guilds?
  11. I suppose there really isn't a strong motivator for the modern Chaosium to resolve lingering questions like these in the 2nd Edition rules ... people have been getting by for 40 years with them, and any official ruling is sure to annoy part of the audience.
  12. When the rules state that a Rune Priest cannot voluntarily reduce their "basic POW" below 18, is that referring only to permanent POW reductions? Or is that temporary POW expenditures for Battle Magic too?
  13. WRT the resistance roll, it was the paragraph which stated that power costs would be paid even if the resistance roll failed that made me think resistance was rolled before paying. But that could also just mean "no refunds!"
  14. Picked this up after a long absence. Magic questions! 1) When making a resistance roll to cast a spell, does the attacker deduct the cost of the spell before determining their effective POW for the resistance roll? That is how it worked in later editions of CoC as I recall, but nothing in the RQ2 rules indicate this. 2) The description for "Temporal" says that these spells have a finite duration. It then indicates that Bladesharp and a few other spells have a duration of 10 rounds, which I can't find anywhere in the spell descriptions. Is the intent for all Temporal spells to default to a 10-round duration? Thanks!
  15. Hi all, I'm reading through the Runequest Classic Edition rules with plans to run it at our new RPG club this fall. Overall, the rules are written quite clearly. However, I do have some questions about the first few chapters, mostly to do with parrying. 1) If the defender parries successfully and the attacker fails the attack roll, is the damage suffered by the attacker's weapon based on the attacker's damage roll? Or does the defender roll damage as if they struck? 2) The Two Weapon Use section says an adventurer using two weapons can make 2 attacks, 2 parries, or 1 attack and 1 parry. However, in the rules examples of combat, Rurik is only wielding one weapon, and is making an attack and a parry with it. So I'm not certain how that last use for two-weapon fighting could be seen as an improvement... 3) Does a non-parried critical hit bypass armour AND do double damage? The screen seems to suggest so, but the definition of critical damage in the book only mentions doubled damage for parrying. 4) Can a piece of armour absorb it's full rating of damage from multiple hits to the same location? I'll be reading the Magic chapter next. Thanks!