Pointless tome-reading house rules

tendentious

Not all skills are equivalent. I have no problem with the idea that a complete novice can pick up a gun and hit the bullseye with their first shot, however unlikely that might be. But when it comes to reading in an unfamiliar language, your high-school French lessons are not going to grant you a 10% chance of reading and understanding a la recherché du temps perdu. At least not without a lot of assistance.

So here are a few house rules I've been toying with.

Tome Quality – Fluency – each tome has a Fluency rating, representing the difficulty of the text. To read a tome, the character’s relevant language skill must equal or exceed the Fluency of the tome. Additional factors can increase the effective level of a character's language skill, allowing a character to read a tome they would otherwise be unable to read, or reducing the amount of time it takes to read a tome.

Factors
 – quality reference material (typically a library)
 - skilled assistance (PC or NPC with language skill equal to or greater than tome’s Fluency)
 - character is familiar with a different edition of the same tome and have said tome for reference
 - a complementary skill (Archaeology, Anthropology, Occult, History, etc) equal to or greater than Fluency
 - any other plausible aid the player can think of that the Keeper agrees provides significant assistance (wearing a Mi-go brain-o-tron helmet, the entity bound within the tome telepathically funnelling the contents into the character's head, coffee)

Each factor increases character’s effective language skill by %100 of the skill (not by 100 points)

Result
Effective Skill
Less than Fluency – cannot read
Fluency up to twice Fluency – read time factor 1
Twice Fluency up to three times Fluency – read time factor 2
Three times Fluency up to four times Fluency– read time factor 3
Four times Fluency up to five times Fluency – read time factor 4
etc