Jump to content

Combat Question


Recommended Posts

In opposed skill tests characters with skills over 100% are already considered to have succeeded. Therefore to be beaten his opponent needs to score a critical success. Of course the Master may also roll a critical, in which case the highest roll wins.

The above details a skill roll, but if this was combat, kust to verify, would the opponent still require a Critical to successfully Dodge/Parry?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You need to read the rules on p46 for Close Combat skills greater than 100%, those rules apply only to Opposed Rolls. Combat which is not an opposed roll is handled differently.

Logically the effect is the same.

Rurik with a Close Combat skill of 120% always hits if he chooses not to split his attack (see p46) , unless his skill is modified down by situational modifiers. So logicically he's only rolling to see if he rolls a critical.

A bit ambiguous I know ( and perhaps something I'll look at in OQ2 ) but that's how it is.

Edited by Newt

Head Honcho of D101 Games
Publisher of Crypts and Things/Monkey/OpenQuest/River of Heaven
The Sorcerer Under the Mountain

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...