Advice for running Six Season in Sartar and Company of the Dragon

John T.

Do any GMs who've run Six Season in Sartar and Company of the Dragon have any advice as to possible pain points, rough spots, etc. to look out for? What did you do with the two seasons between the end of Six Seasons and the start of Company with The Forging? Any suggestions for the first Company initiation? What's in the book is written from the perspective that the Ring already exists rather than the PCs being initiated as the Ring. As I'm new to Glorantha, I'm wondering if any more experienced with the setting came up with something better than I can for this first initiation for the Company. Any other advice, ideas, etc. are also appreciated.

• Like 1

The Ring members are chosen by the enigmatic Rainbow Wyrm (p.27): "They are the adventurers who found and liberated it from its prison. Any additional members of the Ring are appointed for extraordinary ability (Rune masters and the like)." So if you played Six Seasons, you already know who's in the Ring: it's the original player characters, plus any new adventurers who joined for the sequel. (By definition, an adventuring PC has extraordinary ability in the eyes of the Wyrm)

I'm a bit of a narrativist, myself. If the Haraborn Clan survivors spent two seasons on the run, hounded through the wilderness by Lunar and Colymar patrols, before the second movie's opening sequence, that's in the opening scroll text. You don't need to play through every day, week or season. You can give your players two seasons' worth of experience rolls and POW gains to beef up their characters from their life on the run.

That said, I haven't run or played the campaign(s) myself, and someone who has done may have better answers for you. 

Edited by Nick Brooke

I guess I didn't ask my question clearly enough. Sorry about that. Let me try to clarify.