Dealing with Sanity (Bouts of Madness) in Combat - how do you handle it without making the players useless?

Keeper Bolog

Greetings!

I return with yet more stupid questions, sorry for this I am fairly new to the CoC 7e hobby ^^

Now the question:

How do you deal with Sanity rolls , specifically FAILED sanity rolls that leads to a bout of madness while in combat?

For example if out of 4 player characters only 1 of them succeeds their sanity check and goes into a bout of madness that player is practically useless during the entire fight, especially if a "run away" or "feeling relaxed" bout of madness gets picked. How do you make that player feel engaged during the combat? And do your goons atack him if he just stands around drooling insane or doing random things instead of defending himself?

Advice appreciated!

Thanks a lot!

Edited by Keeper Bolog
  • Like 2

That's a good question! 

A good way would be for some NPCs to accompany the PCs. Then, if some PC suffers a bout of madness that lasts for many turns, the player can temporarily control one of the NPCs and so remain in the action while her PC is running away or incapacitated.

• Like 2
  • Helpful 1

Read my Runeblog about RuneQuest and Glorantha at: http://elruneblog.blogspot.com.es/

• 2 weeks later...

This can be tough to manage, especially if you only have a small group. TBH I often take the Bout of Madness roll with a grain of salt and - if I feel it does not help the story/session then I change the effect to suit. Also if the character has failed their INT check then they have "repressed the memory" which can be even more awkward as they are now in a situation that they don't believe is even happening! If you feel that your players are up to it you can possibly bring them on-board to roleplay their insanity and keep them active.