A Question About Magic World

Othertim

Hello everyone.  I'm brand new to Magic World and BRP in general but I'm loving what I'm seeing so far.  I've been playing RQ6, Mythic Britain, and soon Luther Arkwright so I wanted to see what the BRP line holds.  What would you say personally is the main difference between Magic World and standard BRP that draws you to the game?  What is different between the two in general?  I'm asking because I haven't finished reading the whole book but I was wanting to find things to key in on.  When I run a fantasy game in the future I will definitely use things from the Advanced Sorcery book.  That's amazing so far.  Thanks in advance for the replies and have a great rest of the week.  

I cannot answer the question as I have never compared the BGB to Magic World. Rather I learned Magic World first and only consult the BGB when I need more...

For me Magic World was easier to get into because it represents only what you need to know to run a Magic World or Stormbringer type game. If I had used the BGB I would have had to do much more reading and then made a lot more decisions as to which rules to use and which to not use. I guess that's the difference between a complete game with setting (Magic World) versus a generic tool kit approach (BGB).

Check out our homebrew rules for freeform magic in BRP ->

No reason for Ars Magica players to have all the fun!

On 15 December 2015 at 10:13 PM, Othertim said: