MW in LANKHMAR

parejf63

After getting the Savage Worlds Lankhmar Map, I was AWE STRUCK, best thing I have ever purchased.   I have all the RQ books on Lankhmar, as well as those of TSR.

I love the MW rules, which is easier than even OPENQUEST, which I also like.   But MW seems to fit the setting better.

I do have to pose a few questions though:

1 How would you draw up stats for the Ghouls?   I have my own ideas but wanted other insights.

2 How did you use sorcery in the game, and the Three Allegiances?

I am in the process of converting the Black Magic Rules from MRQII Lankhmar.   I will post them when done.

My players like a low but powerful magic campaign, and this is the perfect setting for it..

Hurrah! Another who recognises the wonderful nexus between Lankhmar and Magic World! (Well, in my case, Elric! MW's progenitor but the idea is the same.)

I've been running a Nehwon campaign using these rules for more than 20 years. They are perfect for a 'low-but-powerful' (I like your phrasing there) magic, swords and sorcery campaign. My latest campaign notes are on Obsidian Portal if you are interested: https://nehwon.obsidianportal.com/

I've not yet run ghouls as either PCs or NPCs in my campaign, which has mostly taken place around the southern Lankhmar Continent and the Inner Sea, so I can't give any insights there.

As for sorcery, I've always thought that Nehwon allowed for many magical traditions, but my game has boiled down to three:

1. basic 'battle magic' spells as written in Magic World

2. a freeform magic system based on the Maelstrom magick system, which I've talked about elsewhere on this forum and am always happy to go on about 

3. an adaptation of RoleMaster's Spell Law, where players acquire aptitudes for spell 'lists', one per skill. This allows for very different magicians who nevertheless have a number of spells at their disposal.