Playtest Observations

tedopon

I wasn't involved in the Kickstarter, so I am new to the party...apologies to any and all to whom this info is not all that informative. I had never played or even read 13th Age until the 13G pdf dropped.

I ran through the demo scenario for GenCon with my home group tonight. Had time to do every option in the encounters in a little under three hours....and we had a lot of roleplaying for what really boils down to a combat mechanics demo. There were four PCs, all from the pregens that came with the "scenario".

I love the lack of anything resembling a plot/story. Having the characters discuss backgrounds and their runes, then make rune rolls gave us more than enough material to populate the area around Arkat's Hold with so much spontaneous detail I could have run a six hour session from just the first half hour of character finalization. 

The last couple years I have run Glorantha games using Dungeon Crawl Classics. This game has a similar feel to that, but at the opposite end of the spectrum. The DCC group was always getting used as a mop in combats. The campaign actually ended in a TPK because I compared the group unfavorably to the trolls they played in the previous campaign who were BEASTS, and their immediate response was to become troll food in the next encounter. 

13G characters are very powerful. After the first encounter, in which the Jack O Bear dropped itself to 50% in the first round due to Hazzard the Trickster being The Most Badass Man Alive, I scaled the rest of the combats for a party of 6. The party of 6 distribution for 4 players made the combats a little better, but they were still extremely one sided. This isn't a bad thing (it's a demo), but I think the next time I run it I will scale it up even further.