a question on skills

clay1334

this may seem like a dumb question to you experienced brp users but im new to the game and could use a little help. in brp a character has a certain number of skill points for occupational skills and hobby skills, my question is can a player spend hobby skill points on an occupation skill? thanks in advance! :);D

Yes, a character can spend points from his "personal point pool" on any skill he wants (including Professional skills).Just remember that skills cap at 75% for a "normal" game and 90% for a "heroic" game.

But remember, the skill cap "includes" the skill base and any bonus from characteristics if that optional rule is in use. Therefore, if you spend enough points to bring the skill to 75% (including the base), the +7 you may have from DEX won't further raise the skill.

Personally, I didn't really like the idea of the characteristic bonus not adding to an already high skill, not because I wanted the skills to be able to be higher, but because it added more complexity to spending the skill points.

Rod

Join my Mythras/RuneQuest 6: Classic Fantasy Yahoo Group at https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/RQCF/info

"D100 - Exactly 5 times better than D20"

One question I had upon reading the Big Gold Book is how many skill points does a starting character get? The answer seems to be 250, but then there is mention of those hobby/personal skill points, too. So is it 250 points (professional skills) plus additional points for those personal skills? Or 250 total including the hobby stuff? Maybe I'm thick-headed, but re-reading the character creation chapter didn't clear things up for me.