Dreamland a variation upon a theme or?

Gray Raven

To introduce myself, I am a writer of fantasy novels that are set in Dreamland.  Here are the 'rules' of how I imagine Dreamland to function for the purposes of my novels.

My own exploration of Dreamland has been influenced by Myers and, of course, Lovecraft.  Although I have read and enjoyed Lumley's works, I have tended to imagine a significant difference from his version and even Lovecraft's.

That divergence starts with the effects of death in the Waking World on the Dreamer.  I don't like the idea that a Dreamer can obtain immortality.  I prefer that Dreamland is crafted by living Dreamers from the Waking World and thus impacted by cultural differences of those Dreamers who reside in differing time zones in the Waking World and in different times as well.  Thus, Lovecraft's Dreamland was significantly the product of the 1920s-1930s of New England.  I imagine that even in those years, Dreamland, as seen through the eyes of Waking World Western United States Dreamers, let alone Dreams of Australia, Japan, Korea, China, etc, would be significantly different.