Missing Link

ImpishSkald

I originally posted on the Game Aid thread, but following the advice over there I'm starting a new thread. I'm new to the game and really this style of an RPG. One of the things that we are seeming to struggle against is with Mastery of Runes (Earth, Law, Spirit, Darkness or whatever). It seems when there is a contest where you are not set against another person the person either succeeds or Fumbles. Gleaning understanding of a Rune or using a rune to understand a situation. So what would people recommend with that situation?

The other thing that we have ran into is with two people with equal level of Mastery a contest between two people seems to take a long time to resolve the situation. Which on one hand makes sense, but on another with my understanding of the system that's not the design. For things that aren't a big deal I can see just roll it out as one roll and stalemate or slight victory to one side or the other is OK. But when it matters... that one roll doesn't seem sufficient.

What am I not getting? I feel there is just a concept or something fundamental I'm just overlooking from this being a very different system than anything other than maybe the Fate system that I've had experience with in the past. I am so excited to have found this setting and want to try this system with it. My first playtest went a little off the rails from this missing link.

i.e. a Chaos Beast was released in Boldhome and I (GM) rolled 1's like Wil Wheaton... and there was fire...

Edited by ImpishSkald
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, ImpishSkald said:

I'm new to the game and really this style of an RPG.

One important question is which version of HeroQuest are you using as that may influence response.

I'll assume the HQ2/HQG version as that is what I can best respond to.

1 hour ago, ImpishSkald said: