Engizi Question

Larry Lovecraft

I am new to Glorantha lore and I am attempting to make a "river rat" thief-ish smuggler character, and in lieu of Eurmal (a little too disruptive) I was thinking Engizi.  I am from the baseline homeland (Sartar/Colymar/Narri) and it says the tribe has minor temples to Engizi. 

My question is, is there anything lore wise that would prevent a smuggler from being in the river cult?  Seems like a good fit to me, but again I am new to Glorantha.  I did roll the "awakened animal" trinket and made it a rat, so that is pretty awesome.  Thanks y'all!

36 minutes ago, jps said:

It sounds like a good idea and I don't think there's anything preventing a smuggler from being an initiate of the river cult (Engizi has not been developed a lot as far as I know).

The rat is a nice touch ^^  

I was almost leaning Eurmal, but then I rolled background and ended up with a pretty high Honor, so I couldn't quite wrap my head around that...I'll look into Engizi as much as possible to find out more.

Eurmal is a difficult cult to grasp: thieves, assassins, pranksters. They are disruptive and sometimes dangerous yet, Eurmal was a Lightbringer (although an unusual one) and therefore, there is a Eurmal initiate in every Orlanthi council. They serve as buffoons in the medieval sense of the word (those who could make fun of the lord/king), nonetheless, contrary to their medieval counterparts they are sometimes also thieves and assassins. Quite difficult to grasp.

Engizi works great for a "smuggler" with high Honor. The goods must flow, and the river goes where it must. I don't think the character would really view themselves as a smuggler so much as an honest trader who simply has to sometimes work around ridiculous and unreasonable restrictions that various unworthy "authorities" try to place upon them. Moving goods is a sacred duty - the only "crime" involved would be allowing petty bureaucrats to stop them.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 2