Jump to content

Kloster

Members
  • Content Count

    512
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

17 Good

About Kloster

  • Rank
    Senior Member
  • Birthday 02/11/1967

Converted

  • RPG Biography
    RQ2, ADD, RQ3, Superworld, Champions, ...
  • Current games
    None
  • Location
    France
  • Blurb
    RQ Fan since, euh, long

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    Yep. RQIII Trollpack explained how you could be simultaneously a full shaman, a priest AND a sorceror. Let's wait a RQG Trollpack. Kloster
  2. Kloster

    THE SORCERY RULES YOU NEED TO REMEMBER FOR RQ:RiG !

    18 on 3D6 is 1/216, so around half a percent, but 18 on dD6+6 is 1/36, i.e. around 3 percent, and with the 3 points to add, you need 9 or better on 2D6, which is 28 percent. More than 1/4 of the players wanting to play a sorceror can have the 18 INT, not counting the Fire rune possible bonus. According to RQG, yes, you get a bonus to fire/sky rune for grazelanders and Sun County (and praxian impala riders although they are not Yelmites, nor Yelmalions) . You also get a bonus to air rune for Sartar and Praxian Pol Joni (and Bison Riders, althoug iirc they are not Orlanthi). Kloster edit: correct some typing mistakes.
  3. Kloster

    THE SORCERY RULES YOU NEED TO REMEMBER FOR RQ:RiG !

    I have rolled a 16 and added 2 of the 3 additional points to it, going up to 18 (I was below 92 total points). Professions are chosen, not rolled, so it is sufficient to say 'Hey, I am a philosopher'. I did it to try the sorcery rules. Kloster
  4. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    What I have always understood is that the 'automatic working spell' is only for the spirit/elemental/entity that is WITHIN the binding enchantment. If you order it to exit to perform a task, then the control spell follows the normal rule. Kloster
  5. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    I have not understood 'the binder' the way you did, but why not. Agreed for the last part. I got your point. Mine is correct, but what you explain bypass the problem I was describing, because the binder is using the spirit knowledge to cast the spell. I wonder if it is possible to teach a specific spell to a bound spirit, or if you have to go with the spells known by the spirits when you found/summoned them. Kloster
  6. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    Correct. I think Allied spirits are a very specific case of cult spirits, not your general joe average spirit. You are right, it can be understood that way:as you said, the language admits it's a possibility, so it is not forbidden. I also wished it had been clearer. Kloster
  7. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    Even if literally it means the character that sent the spirit to the binding enchantment, I understand it to be 'the character that controls the bound spirit, either by touching the binding enchantment, or by casting a spell'. Kloster
  8. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    Yes, but as it can not perceive the world outside the binding, most of the spells can't be cast (RQG p249).It needs either magic to perceive the world (RQG p249) or cast it's spells on the binding owner (my understanding). Kloster
  9. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    You're almost right on target. In RQIII, you can not order a bound spirit to cast a spell while it is in the binding enchantment because it can not perceive the target of the spell. You had to release it before. The classic tactic was to cast a control/dominate spell on the bound spirit (it automatically succeed), order it to exit the enchantment, control it for the duration of the spell (including casting spell) and order the spirit to reenter the enchantment before the end of the controlling spell.According to P249, RQG is the same. 1 - No (I think) 2 - I don't know. I have never thought about it. 3 - Control spell worked and work automatically on bound spirit (p249/250 for RQG). Control spirit (spirit magic) and Dominate spirit (sorcery) would have the same effect (but not the same duration). Command Cult spirit (rune magic would do the same if and only if the bound spirit is a cult one. Hope this helps. Kloster
  10. Kloster

    Why bind a spirit?

    This is where the Sorcery Multispell of RQIII was very useful. In order to Dominate before to be attacked, you were casting both spells simultaneously. Now, this option does not exist anymore for sorcerors. Kloster
  11. Kloster

    THE SORCERY RULES YOU NEED TO REMEMBER FOR RQ:RiG !

    I don't understand what you mean. I read p 384 that you can learn an extra rune or technique for each point of INT above 13. I thus understannd that a 18 INT sorceror can have 7 runes + techniques, and that does not touch his free INT. My question is having hist INT boosted to, let's say, 20 through the use of Enhance INT for a duration of more than one full season, can he learn 1 (in this case2) extra rune or technique because his INT is now 20? As runes and techniques can not be unlearned, he would keep it at the end of the spell, but the free INT is untouched. Kloster
  12. Kloster

    THE SORCERY RULES YOU NEED TO REMEMBER FOR RQ:RiG !

    As an added question on Enhance INT, do you think that a sorceror with an Enhance INT spell active for more than one season (cast by himself or not, it doesn't matter) can use the extra INT point(s) to learn a new rune or technique? If yes, it greatly enhance the usefulness of the spell, because it is clearly written that a rune or technique that has been learnt CAN NOT BE FORGOTTEN, and would thus not disappear ant the end of the spell. If not, it greatly limits the power of the spell. Kloster
  13. Kloster

    Swords of Central Genertela

    Errrrh, 3D6+12 averages 22.5. Kloster
  14. Kloster

    What price for Dune?

    Lyonesse has an official RPG, published in french by swiss company "Men in Cheese". I don't know if their license is still valid. Kloster
  15. Kloster

    THE SORCERY RULES YOU NEED TO REMEMBER FOR RQ:RiG !

    RQIII had INT and POW as primary, DEX as secondary. Keeping the same relative values would be having INT on the par with POW, but you're right, it could be toned down to the rank given to CHA (roughly the position previously taken by DEX). On that point, I very much like the new importance of CHA as "force of personality" (as described by womble) to replace DEX that seemed tome a bit out of place. Kloster
×