[brp] deciding which skill opposes which

chuckhazard

I'm very new to brp, and I'm getting ready to run a CoC game. I'm trying to figure out what stay would oppose a fast talk roll. The example in the book makes it sound unopposed - you either fast talk or don't, and the target doesn't matter. Now in dnd I'd look for a sense motive skill but nothing like that seems to be present.

To me it seems that some characters would be more orleas susceptible to fast talk, but the example doesn't seem to make an allowance for this. It seems like it would be a situation to use the resistance table, but like I said I don't see an appropriate skill. Only hide/spot skills specify they are to oppose one another.

Thanks,

...what you finish.

Welcome, Chuck.

Great question! I've had some similar issues as well.

In my game I've opted to go with a 'persuade' skill to cover all forms of persuading an individual, be it fast talk or an intimidate or whatever. I allow the defender an 'Insight' roll to counter this. I let degree of success win, with ties going to the player. We play a sword and sorcery type game, so for us it doesn't need to be more nuanced than this. If I was playing a heavy political game, I might do it differently.

One thing I've been thinking about is how one might make the social skills aspect of the game more interesting. One might, for instance, develop a set of derived stats for social situations. Charm might be equal to CHA+INT, Intimidate = SIZ+INT, Fast talk or Wit = INT+INT, Authority = POW+INT.

With these four derived stats, one would then use them to roll on the resistance table against the opponent's Wit or Authority to try and persuade someone by one of these four means. Not knowing the NPC's scores, the player would have to try to figure out what the best method of persuading someone would be. It needs some work, but could be quite interesting I think.