losing skills from lack of use

Simlasa

I'm trying to remember if there were any of the various BRP variants that had rules for LOSING skill ratings... basically 'use it or lose it'.

Not necessarily completely forgetting stuff but getting 'rusty' at it.

I seem to remember reading such a thing somewhere but no idea where.

I was kind of thinking there might be a way to flesh out a character by having some skills be current and others past... such as if you used a rifle in the army, but that was 10 yrs ago... so you're not such a good shot anymore but it will come back to you faster than someone who is a complete novice.

Maybe list the skill as 10 (60) with 10 being the current/active level and (60) being the past level that could be reached in about half the normal time for gaining such a skill... and letting people buy up such skills at a lesser cost.

Any ideas? Does anyone do this sort of thing in their games?

Edited by Simlasa

I don't remember that in a previous version. I wrote a house rule for it, but discarded it as too much book keeping and not much fun. My goal was to discourage skill caddies, but it turned out not to be a real problem with my players.

My houserule was that once per year each character lost 5% from all skills, but the player needed to keep track of the maximum reached. If a character gets a skill check during the course of play, they automatically succeeded when it came time to check for skill advancement, until they reached the previous maximum.

The idea being that when a character started using the skill again, they could recover their old skill pretty quickly.

But, it was far more work than anyone wanted to do, and just not fun.

Steve

Bathalians, the newest UberVillians!

Yeah... that's a pretty minor effect for the bookkeeping involved...