A couple of basic rules questions

Mugwump

I'm new to the 7th ed rules and I have a couple of questions that I'm hoping someone can clear up.

1) Combat is an opposed roll test.  If the NPC that the player character is fighting has a Fighting skill of greater than 50%, does that mean that the player character needs to roll a "hard" success to succeed or do opposed rolls in combat work differently than non-combat opposed rolls?

2) Sanity loss when casting a spell.  Many of the spells listed have a SAN cost that seems like it will virtually guarantee a 5 point SAN hit and then an insanity check.  If the character fails their roll, does the spell still succeed?  Do they suffer a bout of madness and go running off into the night?  Seems like this will make most spells unusable by PCs.

1 hour ago, Mugwump said:

I'm new to the 7th ed rules and I have a couple of questions that I'm hoping someone can clear up.

1) Combat is an opposed roll test.  If the NPC that the player character is fighting has a Fighting skill of greater than 50%, does that mean that the player character needs to roll a "hard" success to succeed or do opposed rolls in combat work differently than non-combat opposed rolls?

The problem that I run into here is that Combat is specified to work in a certain way, and that is defined by "who gets a higher success," not by a "difficulty being set." My read on the rules is that while it is Keeper discretion to "set the difficulty to Hard" under opposition (page 189), that seems to only be under cases where the PC is just trying to beat a difficulty, not when it is an "opposed roll" where you are comparing a level of success.  Stealth skill level sets a difficulty level. But combat is level of success vs. level of success. I'm not under the impression that opponent skill level alters level of success opposed rolls in melee combat. Gurus? @Mike M @Paul Fricker