Feedback from the BRP/Runequest community on creating a RQ Pbp (TOM?)

Oldskolgmr

1 hour ago, Oldskolgmr said:

I wanted to get feedback from other GM's on running a Pbp RQ game (possibly with Theatre of the Mind Combat).

How did your game go?

How often did you do posts?

What server/forum/site were you on?

I've been running PbP Glorantha games since 2014, and RQG ones since 2017. I also currently play in another RQG game using the RQ Classic Borderlands setting.

At the moment I have two active RQG games: one set Heortland/Holy Country (that one started in 2020) and one in Imther (started that one up in May this year). My prior Colymar/Dragon Pass RQG game concluded with the Smoking Ruin - while that could easily have continued I wanted time to explore and develop more material for my Imther publications.

I use the RPGGeek forum and that works well for my needs. You can find advice for running PbP games on the site here: Tips for users new to play-by-forum games on RPG Geek | RPGGeek

Those of us who run PbP for RQG have threads under this forum: https://rpggeek.com/forum/2242867/runequest-roleplaying-glorantha/play-forum

If you want to see an example, the Smoking Ruins scenario starts here: RQG Smoke and Fire (in-character thread)

Generally, I try to post at least every other day. Much over that and the game quickly loses momentum (however, you have to allow for real-life for yourself and your players so some slow periods through the year are inevitable.

The PbP format leads to a very different style than face-to-face or online. It's very conducive to a narrative style. The GM can describe a lot more of the setting and has time to develop story lines more fully. And the players can elaborate more readily if they choose to as well.