Nonhuman hit locations description

Hi all,

this has been a (albeit minor) problem of mine since I started playing RuneQuest. Basically, the lack of description of nonhuman hit locations and the effects of wounds. For example horse hindquarters are equal to a human's abdomen in terms of what happens when they reach 0 HP or -max HP? And the forequarters are equal to the chest? What happens if a 4 legged creature loses a leg? Does it fall on the ground? Should a lizard die of blood loss if its tail is severed?

I understand it's impossibile to have a separate description for every case and most of the time it's pretty easy to wing it but still some guidance would help. Maybe the bestiary would have been the right place to put this stuff? 

Cheers,

Alex

n.b. the "hindquarter" are usually taken to mean the rear leg & hip (more or less).
This isn't the "abdomen" per se, and shouldn't be treated like the "abdomen."

Agreed that (a) there's too many versions and variations of body-plan, and specific exceptions to general rules (plus wild Chaotic variations) for a comprehensive ruleset to be viable; but also (b) that additional info/guidance seems like it'd be a Good Thing(tm).

• Like 1

C'es ne pas un .sig

On 5/28/2024 at 5:10 PM, Alexandre said:

Hi all,

this has been a (albeit minor) problem of mine since I started playing RuneQuest. Basically, the lack of description of nonhuman hit locations and the effects of wounds. For example horse hindquarters are equal to a human's abdomen in terms of what happens when they reach 0 HP or -max HP? And the forequarters are equal to the chest? What happens if a 4 legged creature loses a leg? Does it fall on the ground? Should a lizard die of blood loss if its tail is severed?

I understand it's impossibile to have a separate description for every case and most of the time it's pretty easy to wing it but still some guidance would help. Maybe the bestiary would have been the right place to put this stuff? 

Cheers,

Alex