What was University like for students back in the early '30s?

One thing I am having issues with while preparing these scenarios is that, not being from the USA (I am from Spain), I have very little knowledge of the life in the years the scenario is set in; actually I have some issues with writing in English too, but that's entirely another matter and one I hope you will forgive me for.

I THINK I have a good idea of what would be a student's day in today's university, from movies and TV shows, but I can't really figure how students lived 80 years ago. What did they do for fun? How much hours a day did they spend studing, attending classes, etc...? What was the relationship between male and female students? Was it usual for them to have cars, or did they all live in the campus? At what age did they join University, and how long till they majored?

If anyone could point me to some information about what was university like back then, it would be useful to people who are not familiar with that time period.

Edited by AlbertG

Although I'm not in your position regarding lack of knowledge about student activities in the 20's as I've seen a variety of old movies set in the thirties where students are featured. That's not necessarily factual more idealised but even so it's useful for background.

A more useful  thing would be to get hold of the Miskatonic University book published by Chaosium, either the 1985 version or the updated version from 2005. Both have comprehensive information on Miskatonic University, University life and the staff together with scenarios and a character generation option for taking students through all four years of college.

• Like 2

Nigel

What did they do for fun? Go to the movie theater or listen to serials on the radio (in addition to the items mentioned above)