A Slower Pace of Rune Magic

Austin

One of the big things that really charmed me about RuneQuest as a whole, when I started playing it instead of Pathfinder, is the slow, granular pace of character progression. I feel like RQG reduces that somewhat with its high initial character skills and with the new Rune points system. While I do really like Rune points and rolling on your Rune affinities and all that, I've been thinking of ways to house rule the game back down to a bit of a slower pace.

The main one I've been considering is that each time an adventurer sacrifices POW for Rune points, he may gain one point of a stackable spell, instead of gaining variable access. I'm drawing sort of on RQ3 for this (although I've played a sorcerer, not a theist). I'm not thinking the points need to be increasing to get increased spell strengths. So just sacrificing one POW lets you go from Flight 3 to Flight 4, and gives you one additional Rune point, but you couldn't cast a Flight greater than Flight 4 from your Rune point pool. There's still the flexibility of the RP pool, but a slower growth to being able to do crazy things. Plus, cults with less Rune magic still get to be making choices for a time longer.

I figure spells which cost multiple RP probably would need multiple POW sacrificed to buy, but I'm a bit unhappy about that.

Common spells are a bit trickier. I'm thinking maybe I'd rule that adventurers automatically gain access to one point of their cult common spells (or basic access for common spells which cost more than 1RP like Command Cult Spirit), but have to choose to add to those spells to go further. So, you'd need to sacrifice a total of 4 POW to get Extension 5.