New to Runequest?

StephenMcG

Part of Runequest to me is the fact I have been playing and reading about it for almost 40 years. I forget that others might be coming to it for the very first time. I understand that Glorantha might be overwhelming to a newcomer, I forget that Runequest might be intimidating, there ARE a lot of moving parts.

If you are new to the system, what should you do?

My advice is start small on both Glorantha and the system. Grab Apple Lane. Build some characters (don't use the whole background thing, that can come later when you grok the core system and will speed up the delivery of playable characters).

Make everyone human, you can even make everyone worshippers of Orlanth, there is enough diversity at beginning level without having to import multiple cults and races.

Don't worry too much about runes and passions, tell the players you will be open to them making changes between sessions if their initial choices are not as optimal as they would like. They should not stress about spell choices but at least half of them should have decent healing magic (again be open to swapping magic between sessions, it is a great way for players to explore the system.

As GM you need to be a few pages ahead but you can paint the wider world and other cults as weird and obscure. You can mention all these things and the draw of alternatives to Orlanth will take your players away from this base.

It should only take a couple of sessions to play through but by this time you will all be content with the basics:

1) How to hit, parry and dodge

2) how to manage strike ranks

3) how important spirit magic is

4) how a cult provides a connection between the character and the world

5) How passions and runes extend the basic system.

You will also see how much time you have before any of the more complex stuff like skills over 100% and sorcery and shamanism will take to become relevant. Ignore that stuff in the book to begin with.