Adapting campaign to BRP, questions!

Arch0n

I'm an old veteran of RPGs but new to Basic Roleplaying. I'm attempting to adapt a fantasy setting to BRP and have a few questions for the masters (100% BRP skill and above)....

My setting's magic system is based on runes and words of power, which is what drew me to BRP (RuneQuest) as a possible system to use.

The magic in the setting is the use of words of power manifesting the caster's will to restructure reality. If runes, rather than words, are used, the magic can have a long-lasting impact. Rune-weapons are common, and warriors frequently have runes carved into their flesh (tattoos) to gain permanent magical benefits, such as improved strength, innate armor, etc.

The point of the system is (1) warriors have a way to manifest magic that keeps them on par with wizards, and (2) it justifies half-naked warrior women with tattoos, which is a staple of every good fantasy setting. :D

My questions:

1) What are the pros / cons of the different magic systems that might represent the magic? Right now I'm vacillating between BRP Magic, BRP Sorcery, SimpleQuest Battle Magic, and SimpleQuest Sorcery. How do these systems play out in practice, which is the most powerful, which the weakest, etc.? Any advice is welcome here.

2) With regard to the "flesh runes" concept, how could they be represented? One thought I had was to do something like RQ Runic Magic where you sacrifice 1 POW and gain the rune. Or like ELRIC! where you can get demon powers at 1 POW each. But I want warriors to have lots of runes, so you'd end up with a lot of really low POW folks. So then I thought perhaps you just "dedicated" POW to the rune to power it (like Divine Magic), so you had fewer magic points, but your POW stat wasn't ruined. Any advice here?

3) What's a good rule mechanic to enable players to attack lots of mooks at once? Splitting skill over 100 won't do. -30 per extra attack? Aiming for very cinematic combat.

Thank you for any advice!