Wrack?

Oni

I'm flipping back through the pdf of Magic World, because I'm thinking about running some flavor of BRP (which I have no experience with beyond reading through a few different versions) and I noticed the Wrack spell 1) seemed really terrible, and 2) raised some general rules questions for me.  

1) It says it's a touch spell, how are those resolved?  Does the caster have to roll something?  Does the defender get a defense roll on top of the resistance roll?

2) Can the caster move while casting spells, or is the poor sorcerer attempting to cast Wrack stuck in melee the entire time?  

3) Can someone casting a spell make a defense roll? If they do will they lose the spell?

4) Do touch spells hold as a charge, or can the target simply step back from you and spoil your spell?

5) I'm assuming it ignores armor, but the damage seems quite low for the apparent hoops you have to go through to cast it.  Is it as terrible a spell as it seems?

1 hour ago, Oni said:

I'm flipping back through the pdf of Magic World, because I'm thinking about running some flavor of BRP (which I have no experience with beyond reading through a few different versions) and I noticed the Wrack spell 1) seemed really terrible, and 2) raised some general rules questions for me.  

1) It says it's a touch spell, how are those resolved?  Does the caster have to roll something?  Does the defender get a defense roll on top of the resistance roll?

In combat use, I'd say a Brawl or Wrestle attack would be required, arguably an easy one (however you choose to assess "easy" rolls), with a Dodge or parry as a defense as you are simply trying to touch the target.

1 hour ago, Oni said:

2) Can the caster move while casting spells, or is the poor sorcerer attempting to cast Wrack stuck in melee the entire time?