Jump to content

Using an ability as an augment for itself


Colgrevance

Recommended Posts

HeroQuest page 53

Quote

Together with the Narrator, you frame the contest, making it clear how your action will assist the recipient (who might be you, or another character).

The contest frame (normally) prevents it. I use my Mountaineer keyword to augment my climb glacier breakout. Climb glacier is a specialism of mountaineer, you would be trying to augment a specialism with a general version of itself. Likewise trying to augment a general skill with itself won’t work in the framing as the keyword is itself. I augment my mountaineering skill with my mountaineering, it won’t frame in real life. 

-----

Search the Glorantha Resource Site: https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com. Search the Glorantha mailing list archives: https://glorantha.steff.in/digests/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks for your answer, I can see this being a problem with very specific abilties. But (to take your example) let's say I use my "mountaineer" keyword to prepare and check my equipment, look for viable routes etc. and thereby augment my "climb glacier" breakout ability for the actual climbing. For the augment, I won't get the specificity bonus (and might even get a penalty if someone in my group has a more specific ability), but I don't see why this should not work. A similar case can be constructed for all keywords and most abilities, I am sure.

Edited by Colgrevance
Link to comment
Share on other sites

As a GM, I wouldn't allow it. 

In the specific example, part of climbing a galcier is to prepare and check my equipment, look for viable routes etc, so that is subsumed into the single keyword and breakouts.

However, if you had Mountaineer 10M (Climb Glacier +2, Prepare Equipment +3, Know Routes +2) then I would say that you could use each of the breakouts to increase the chance of succeeding, giving you a 17M chance.

Simon Phipp - Caldmore Chameleon - Wallowing in my elitism since 1982. Many Systems, One Family. Just a fanboy. 

www.soltakss.com/index.html

Jonstown Compendium author. Find my contributions here

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Colgrevance said:

but I don't see why this should not work.

As I said 

4 hours ago, David Scott said:

The contest frame (normally) prevents it.

In Simon’s example, the seven breakout points are quite an investment in skills, but don’t stop this very specific example. I’ve not actually had anyone ever do this. I’m going see if I can summon @Ian Cooper here for another angle on this. 

-----

Search the Glorantha Resource Site: https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com. Search the Glorantha mailing list archives: https://glorantha.steff.in/digests/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Colgrevance said:

BTw, I am asking because I saw just such a prohibition to augment the same ability in RQG, and was wondering why such a rule does not exist in HeroQuest

I always thought it did, or at least remember it existing, though can't find it now.

But as an HQG GM, I do not allow it - as @David Scott has noted, it doesn't make contextual sense.  Effectively, you're already using that keyword.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 6/17/2018 at 1:15 PM, Colgrevance said:

BTw, I am asking because I saw just such a prohibition to augment the same ability in RQG, and was wondering why such a rule does not exist in HeroQuest, where it would make much more sense in my opinion (because in HQG the abilites can be much broader/more vague than in RuneQuest).

Augments in HQG are permitted at discretion. Is it interesting, is it revealing. That rule appears at HQ2+ because players had begun augment-hunting as  a mini-maxing strategy. So that rule would say: is the player augmenting the ability with itself interesting or revealing. Does it entertain? if not, they can't.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...