Scenarios with an eerie feel to them...

midwinter

I posted this in another Cthulhu-forum but I might as well post it here, making it my first post:

I'm fairly new to Chaosium's Call of Cthulhu (but not horror rpgs) and I would like to know what scenarios people have found creepier than others. I'm not talking brains in jars, gore or things intended just for shock. I'm talking more of an ambience, a feeling of dread or that something is off-kilter in a creepy fashion, a mood like some novels and movies have. If anyone can recommended some shorter scenarios in this vein, I would be grateful. It might be a bit difficult to understand what I mean with ambience, but people familiar with movies like The Haunting, The Legend of Hell House, Rosemary's Baby, Let's scare Jessica to Death, Suspiria, Pumpkinhead, The Wicker Man, The Dark Secret of Harvest Home and The Changeling might get the point. I might add, any horror movie/story involving old, wrinkly people as villains/monsters, for some reason. Stephen King's short story Gramma is an example of that.

I feel that the big Cthulhu campaigns like Horror on the Orient Express and Masks of Nyarlathotep seem more geared towards pulp, wild shootouts with cultists, grandiose schemes and Indiana Jones-like exotic travels. The campaigns are well made of course, but I don't consider them that kind of horror, really.

Edited by midwinter

THE ODIOUS ONE

Theres a few short scenarios that can build up suspense without the need of a big bad monster in it. Mr Corbitt from the mansion of madness book is one of my go to games for new players who don't know much about the mythos as your not dealing with a monster directly. Also I recently ran 'Blackwater Creek' from the Keepers screen pack and 'The Dark Wood' from the Adventures in Arkham county back to back with the same group and they're slow build ups. Blackwater is a good one as its a slow build up with a few possible shock moments.