How grim are Maran Gor worshippers?

Luxus

I started playing Maran Gor worshipper, but I'm not sure grim, wild and/or feral she should be? There are hints of cannibalism and human sacrifice in the RQG rulebook and in some other sources. How common are these? Do they practise headhunting? Collect hands of fallen enemies as trophies? Paint their faces with ash and blood? Practise scarification?

2 hours ago, Luxus said:

I started playing Maran Gor worshipper, but I'm not sure grim, wild and/or feral she should be?

As grim as you want to be.

You could ask "How grim are American soldiers?" I could point to Rambo, Captain Bilko or anyone from MASH and say "Take your pick".

2 hours ago, Luxus said:

There are hints of cannibalism and human sacrifice in the RQG rulebook and in some other sources.

Yes, they can perform human sacrifice and can take part in ritual cannibalism. It is the Dark Earth, Gor means something like Death Earth.

2 hours ago, Luxus said:

Do they practise headhunting?

Probably, Maran Gor has a mace which, I think, was someone's skull, but I might be misremembering.

2 hours ago, Luxus said:

Collect hands of fallen enemies as trophies?

Almost certainly. 

2 hours ago, Luxus said:

Paint their faces with ash and blood?

That sounds good, I'd have that.

2 hours ago, Luxus said:

Practise scarification?

Again, almost certainly.

You can play Maran Gori as grim as you want to. Unsmiling dealers of death, fine. Grim death-dealers bit an inner sense of black humour, fine. Smiling smiters of their enemies, fine. Rip-roaring laughter as she bathes in the blood of her enemies, fine.

Simon Phipp - Caldmore Chameleon - Wallowing in my elitism since 1982. Many Systems, One Family. Just a fanboy. 

www.soltakss.com/index.html

Jonstown Compendium author. Find my contributions here

11 minutes ago, soltakss said: