Achtung Cthulhu - How the Black Sun name himself?

GhislainBlais

That's a great idea. I'm not sure why that didn't occur to Modiphius.

I'm not an expert in German, but I do know they love to pile up a bunch of individual words to make a single noun, so you may want to make it one word Schwarzesonne.

I know just enough to know that there is a possibility that it should be Schwarzesonne or Schwarzensonne. We would need someone more familiar than me with the intricacies of Deutsch to determine that. The adjective ending is determined by the gender of the noun it describes, and I don't know the gender of Sonne, but I will do some Googling.

EDIT: Sonne is a feminine noun, so we need to figure out which of those endings is appropriate.

EDIT 2: Per the web page below, it looks like the feminine adjective ending is -e, so Schwarzesonne is probably correct.

https://lingvist.com/course/learn-german-online/resources/german-adjective-endings/

Edited by SaintMeerkat

The symbol which is a real one and that you can find in the Gruppenführersaal, a special hall in the Wewelsburg intended for meetings of Gruppenführer (SS-Generals) is called Schwarze Sonne; Die Schwarze Sonne if you want to use it with an article.

Just because we like compounds words does not mean that you can just put everything together. 😉

Schwarzesonne isn't correct German.

And Nachtwölfe it is - there is an umlaut in the plural form: der Nachtwolf - die Nachtwölfe.

Just if you wonder: Yep, ich bin Deutscher.

Edited by Der Rote Baron
  • Like 5

• 2 weeks later...
9 hours ago, umlauthuth said:

Mögle-Stadel, who invented it, apparently spells it Schwarze Sonne

SS officer Wilhelm Landig would differ in your opinion about who invented it. Source: Nicholas Goodrick-Clarke 2002: Black Sun: Aryan Cults, Esoteric Nazism and the Politics of Identity, New York University Press, page 3.

Edited by Qizilbashwoman

On 2/5/2022 at 12:23 PM, Qizilbashwoman said: