Jose Luis Posted January 16, 2024 Posted January 16, 2024 Hello there, I have some questions about what I believe is the very best RPG of all time, RQ Roleplaying in Glorantha. 1) Page 358, about spirit pacts: I undestand from the text that if you close such a pact, you get some benefits,but I have several doubts: - The text says: "To find spirits to control, the shaman uses their fetch to inhabit their body while the shaman journeys into the Spirit World. As with Discorporation, the ritual to enter the Spirit World is complex, requiring an hour to complete". I am not clear about the meaning of this; is this a different process than the usual Discorporation (which is also to travel to the Spirit World) and astral travel? When it says "their body", does it mean that the fetch inhabits the body of the shaman while the shaman travels in spiritual form (same as Discorporation)? And also, In my group I have a case where the shaman already knows the spirit and wishes to negotiate with him for this pact, so I guess in this case this process (and thus the use of the table of page 359) is not required, correct? - Concerning the benefits, it says that "the spirit serves the shaman as an extra set of eyes in the Spirit World", but my question (even if it is silly) is: how do you know what a spirit can actually see? Just the specific area where it was originally found? Or can the spirit be instructed to travel further in search of things, thus avoiding the shaman the need to travel himself to the Spirit World (an exploit the player may try to use). - Also, it says that the spirit can be used as a resevoir of magic points for casting spells. Is this in all circumstances, i.e. the spirit works in the same way as the fetch, providing the shaman with its magic points at any time the shaman wishes when he casts a spell? - It also says that he can be used in spirit combat. What does this mean: that the spirit can initiate spirit combat against any entity when the shaman orders it? If so, is this valid at any moment and place, regardless of the location of the spirit at that moment? Has the entity (the foe) to be together with the shaman for such an order to work? Or is it enough its location is known? - These are the benefits listed in the rules, but is there another benefit that could apply? (I mean, can the GM create new ones)? - Concerning the price, the rules state that "If contact is made with a non-hostile spirit, the shaman must bargain with it. The normal deal is for the shaman to give to the spirit 1 point of POW per 10 points of POW the spirit possesses". But I guess another price can be closed if the circumstances allow for it (for example, an extremely good relation with the spirit due to past history), correct? 2) If the stats of the shaman as POW and CHAR are temporarily increased by a spell, does this affect the spell limits or spirit control limits, or those things are only affected by the original stats of the shaman? 3) Concerning rune magic, the rules state that rune spells are cast in MR 1. Can this be delayed voluntarily by the caster if it benefits him to cast it in a later MR? Or can he do something else in MR 1 and if he has enough MR in the round, cast a rune spell after MR 1? 4) In combat, my players are always trying to take advantage of positioning (side or back attacks bonuses) every time they outnumber the enemy, and just because of their superior numbers, even if it is by a minimal margin; so they claim that just their superior numbers allow them to get the bonuses, even without a previous stealth approach. This is a tricky judgement call, as in reality this would not be that straightforward. What can I do? I resist to concede that they get the bonuses just because the enemy is outnumbered, without further tactical efforts. What do you think? Many thanks for you assistance! 1 Quote
Jose Luis Posted January 16, 2024 Author Posted January 16, 2024 Sorry, another question concerning combat: if a PC is being attacked by an enemy, and they have already engaged, and another PC wants to get in the middle to avoid his friend getting attacked, I guess that the PC originally being attacked needs to disengage first (page 195 of the rules), or the only effect of his friend getting in the middle would be suporting the original PC in combat but without freeing the PC from the attacks, correct? Quote
PhilHibbs Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 21 hours ago, Jose Luis said: Sorry, another question concerning combat: if a PC is being attacked by an enemy, and they have already engaged, and another PC wants to get in the middle to avoid his friend getting attacked, I guess that the PC originally being attacked needs to disengage first (page 195 of the rules), or the only effect of his friend getting in the middle would be suporting the original PC in combat but without freeing the PC from the attacks, correct? There are no rules for one character supporting another in melee. Everyone is on their own, mechanically, unless the GM wants to spot rule something based on their perception of the tactical situation. I'm usually quite open to someone parrying an attack on behalf of another adventurer, maybe with a -20 penalty. Depends on the situation and the weapons being used. Quote
Squaredeal Sten Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 (edited) About the "getting in the middle" question: unless there is a gap to get into I don't know hpw you can do that in melee in this or any other game. ? maybe Grapple? But the second Adventurer can double team the enemy, which usually means a win; and yes the first Adventurer can disengage under that rule. Edited June 26, 2024 by Squaredeal Sten grapple? Quote
Shiningbrow Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 17 minutes ago, Squaredeal Sten said: About the "getting in tbe middle" question: unless there is a gap to get into I don't know hiw you can do that in melee in this or any other game. But the second Adventurer can double team the enemy, which usually means a win; and yes the first Adventurer can disengage under that rule. Given that the entire melee round is an abstract of all the attacks, parries, feints, dodges, etc etc... including closing distance and then retreating - I don't see a problem with it. There's no "D&D you have complete control of this 5' square - unless you move" type of thing. Quote
Squaredeal Sten Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 On 1/16/2024 at 7:22 AM, Jose Luis said: ... 2) If the stats of the shaman as POW and CHAR are temporarily increased by a spell, does this affect the spell limits or spirit control limits, .... Yes that is the way I read it too.I It will take careful planning and extending the duration of the spell to get much benefit. Quote
Scotty Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 On 1/16/2024 at 1:22 PM, Jose Luis said: Hello there, I've answered over at the Q&A: Quote
PhilHibbs Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 On 1/16/2024 at 1:22 PM, Jose Luis said: 2) If the stats of the shaman as POW and CHAR are temporarily increased by a spell, does this affect the spell limits or spirit control limits, or those things are only affected by the original stats of the shaman? 5 hours ago, Squaredeal Sten said: Yes that is the way I read it too.I It will take careful planning and extending the duration of the spell to get much benefit. Spirit spells are not great for this, unless the shaman has Spell Extension power (p362) which keeps a spirit spell up indefinitely. Probably my favourite power by the way, Spirit Screen 6 all the time? Yes please. Rune spells such as Charisma are great though, double CHA for 15 minutes, or add in Extension for days or seasons. Quote
Squaredeal Sten Posted January 17, 2024 Posted January 17, 2024 (edited) 6 hours ago, Shiningbrow said: Given that the entire melee round is an abstract of all the attacks, parries, feints, dodges, etc etc... including closing distance and then retreating - I don't see a problem with it. There's no "D&D you have complete control of this 5' square - unless you move" type of thing. But given that abstraction, how does one get in the way? The enemy can also maneuver, and with no zone of control or grid, how does "in the way " work? Obviously the GM can house rule it, but why ask us all about a GM unique house rule? Edited January 17, 2024 by Squaredeal Sten Quote
Shiningbrow Posted January 18, 2024 Posted January 18, 2024 12 hours ago, Squaredeal Sten said: But given that abstraction, how does one get in the way? The enemy can also maneuver, and with no zone of control or grid, how does "in the way " work? Obviously the GM can house rule it, but why ask us all about a GM unique house rule? I think it would be one of those "We can't come up with all the rules for every single situation - so you'll just have to houserule it" things. For me... I'd be looking at SRs - lowest gets to act first (naturally) - so, if the intervener is lowest, they can intervene. If it's the defender, they can back away, and if it's the attacker, they hit their intended target. Quote
Akhôrahil Posted January 18, 2024 Posted January 18, 2024 On 1/16/2024 at 2:28 PM, Jose Luis said: Sorry, another question concerning combat: if a PC is being attacked by an enemy, and they have already engaged, and another PC wants to get in the middle to avoid his friend getting attacked, I guess that the PC originally being attacked needs to disengage first (page 195 of the rules), or the only effect of his friend getting in the middle would be suporting the original PC in combat but without freeing the PC from the attacks, correct? There’s very little ”pulling aggro” unless the GM decides it, but the Distraction spell does it. Quote
PhilHibbs Posted January 18, 2024 Posted January 18, 2024 7 minutes ago, Akhôrahil said: There’s very little ”pulling aggro” unless the GM decides it, but the Distraction spell does it. Distraction only works on engaged targets though. Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.