The Police and Other Practical Considerations

Jwfortune

Had a situation where a gun fight broke out in a residential house in Arkham when two goons and two players ran into each other.  I wasn't sure how long to give them before the policy showed up.  This was the 20's so there are phones and such.  How would you have handled this?

Later in the campaign the police had reason for suspicion and brought the players in for questioning.  I basically had the players roll bluff vs the police, or something similar.  Luckily they succeeded, other wise I thought the police would have put then in jail.  It seems this would have stalled the game.  

How do you handle it when the police become suspicious?

On 9/19/2016 at 0:39 PM, Jwfortune said:

I'm a simulationist-style GM, so I try to handle it realistically. Obtaining knowledge in this area can be hard (luckily, I'm a former police officer), but asking your players what they think is realistic should suffice.

• Response times would probably be lengthy, and the police would probably be cautious... which means moving slow, but responding in overwhelming force.
  • Investigations would similarly be slow, but tight-lipped. PC's should sweat (as the the police won't let on what they know during questioning), but the scenario will likely be over by the time the police are ready to indict.
Edited by mvincent
  • Like 2

In CoC v7 french ed. a good way to simulate an interrogation by a contest detective vs suspect (sort of social fight):

-The detective attack with 3 weapons : a clue 10%, a testimony 25%, a document 40%. The attack do 1D6 Damage to suspect's social HP.

-The suspect defend with it best skill or POW. The suspect have social HP at (POW + defense.Skill)/10

If your player had been spot or have left some of their own's possession in the fight, they have some problems...

3 hours ago, MJ Sadique said: