BRP Strike Rank Combining Movement with Melee

saintricardo

Hello,

I am new to BRP and have been going over the rules.  I am a little confused in the Strike Rank System when it comes to moving and attacking.  Is there an option to "Charge" an opponent?  I understand that a human can move 3m per strike rank starting on his DEX SR.  So for instance if a human wanted to move 15m and attack he would start moving on SR 2 end movement on SR 6 and then between size SR and weapon SR need at least 3 or less to attack that round.  Would there be a way to combine his last move with an attack to possibly "gain" an extra SR?

My main problem is with the Strike Rank system it would be really hard for a human with average stats to move 15m and attack in the same round however with the DEX Rank system it is possible for a human with average stats to 15m and halving his DEX then attack in the same round.

Thanks

Yes and no. In the rules there is an option for combining movement with an action. Check the sections on Movement and Combining Actions on Page 201. But it is up to the GM to allow it or not. Generally speaking, it wasn't intended for most characters to be able to move 15m and then attack. The reason for the different results is that the Strike Rank system and the DEX Rank system came from different, related, game systems, both of which predated BRP. 

The Strike Rank system used in BRP originated in RuneQuest 3. RQ had a rule for attacking on the run that might be just what you wanted for a "charge" attack. A moving character can "attack on the run". He gives up his chance to parry or dodge, and loses 1m per SR from his move rate. But he replaces his normal SIZ SR modifier with the time it takes to reach the target. For example, if you had an average person (DEX SR3, SIZ SR 2, Move 3m/SR) armed with a broadsword (Weapon SR 2), he would attack on SR 5 (DEX plus Weapon SR) plus 8 (for 15m at 2m/SR) and so still wouldn't be able to attack in the same round.

• Like 1