Converting arcade games into scenarios--does it work?

Erico

I'm new to the paper-pencil-dice RPG, and want to know some-thing:
I read that Mythras allows for quick and exciting action, the kind you get in hollywood movies.  This made me think of converting an old action-oriented side-scroller arcade game, Ghosts 'N' Goblins (1985), into a scenario.  Question:  would this "work"?  Or would it get quickly slow and boring?  Would it be only for advance players to survive?  What if you made it less lethal--would it still be exciting?  It looks like it would be fun to explore such areas in the video game, but would it still be fun as a RPG, to enter GnG's graveyard, forest, and mountain with your friends?--or would it be just too lethal and unplayable?  Will it be a flop, and if so, then what would you have to add to make it "work"?
--Thanks,
Erico.

While i haven't done it with Mythras, I've converted movie plots into RP games. Main thing you have to be mindful of when doing that is to not make the game plot linear, well, unless your players don't mind railroading! I know a video game tends to be linear, but so is a movie plot, unless you pull all of the locations from the movie out of it's linear plot and allow them to be visited in any order.

I'm sure you could do something similarly with a video game plot.

Edited by Skunkape

Skunk - 285/420 BRP book

You wanna be alright you gotta walk tall

Long Beach Dub Allstars & Black Eyed Peas

I played a LOT of Ghosts & Goblins (and its sequel) back in the day. I could see building a scenario/setting based on it and similar games (like Castlevania and Mystic Defender and... lots of stuff) but so much of the feel of those is the music and the graphics and the frantic gameplay... I'd want to focus on what other elements make Ghosts & Goblins memorable/unique and I don't think there is much except maybe the boss monsters. Without its visual/audio G&G is pretty much just vanilla fantasy with near constant frenetic combat.