I don't get it(player creation question)

kinwolf

Hiya!

Small intro:  I am totally new to Runequest, and Glorantha, but an old AD&D player(dating back to 1st edition).  I bought the recently release slipcase of Runequest to create my first campaign in that world/ruleset.  I always liked D100 systems(WFRP and Middle-Earth RPG back in the days) but we only got to play those when the two mains DM's were sick or busy with exams(sickness did seem to strike at the same time as exams period though... weird)  Anyway, fast forward to today, seeing this new release rekindled my interest.

So!  Bought the books, started reading the main rulebook and...stuck at page 28.. Yikes!  It's a small thing really, but I can't figure out what we're supposed to do with step 1 of the family History;"Pick which family member had the most important impact on your adventurer sense of identity".  Reading the paragraph under this seems to indicate that the player must select the influential grand-parent, that's fine, but also his/her clan/origin and who married who and into which clan? For total newbies to the world like us this feels like a huge empty blank page.  We know almost nothing of the land, and a player could select mortal enemies of his current homeland, selected in step 1, without knowing it?

Anyone can help clarify how this step is usually done?

Thanks!

Edited by kinwolf

Many (but not all) D100 rule variation are big on social background. It's in Runequest DNA.

Some rule have table to make it easy. I dunno about Runequest rule in particular though.

Many preset adventure will somehow tie in your social background. Some magic are also heavily tied to your social background (i.e. strong emphasis on social duty for priest or shaman and particular location for replenishing power)

This is an approach to adventure that you can try or ignore as a GM.