What are the rule differences between BRP vs CoC vs RoL?

StaceyUK

I'm looking to buy the Basic Roleplaying game engine but I've read reviews that state simplifications from Rivers of London are missing. I'm new to Chaosium games so I'm unaware of what these are. Also some character percentile stuff from Call of Cthulu.

What are the rule differences between the three?

Rivers of London is simplest.

Call of Cthulhu is more complex, with some neat tricks that you won’t find in BRP itself.

BRP is a massive pick-and-mix buffet you can use to roll your own RPG.

Jason Durall, who wrote BRP, has a good post on this site explaining why he didn’t bring various CoC 7e innovations into that system. That’ll help you understand the differences. One minute, I’ll try to find it for you…

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Nick Brooke said:

Here you go: CoC vs. BRP.

That's really the new BRP vs the prior (BGB edition) of BRP, tho.  Not a CoC-specific comparo (other than the one "Sanity" bullet-point).

Nick's own summary -- "BRP is a massive pick-and-mix buffet you can use to roll your own RPG" -- is really spot-on.
Don't think of the BRP:UGE rulebook as "a RPG" that's ready-to-play.  I like the "toolkit" simile, and "build-your-own-BRP;" but the "buffet" idea works well, too.  It's a compendium of BRP rules-variants, with which you can build any RPG from a no-magic / gritty-street-rats, to pulpy-Indiana-Jones, to 4-Color-Supers, to Tolkienesque high-fantasy.

Rivers of London is based upon the novels of that name by Ben Aaronovitch.  The RPG was designed & written with the specific idea that it would appeal to fans of the novels who may never have played any RPG previously, so it leans-in on simplified mechanics (and adds a bespoke magic-system, to better match the novels).
It's still BRP.