Magic & Sorcery in 1 Setting, Sensible?

Harshax

I was thinking how I could mix different powers in the same fantasy campaign, and would like some discussion on the topic. I'm a RQ3 veteran, so that's my focus.

Magic is the closest to RQ Sorcery, specifically with spells being skills, and being able to increase the intensity of spells. It isn't nearly as detailed (intensity, duration, range, etc), but it is kind of close.

Sorcery is closest to RQ Divine Magic. Spells always work, and there are spot rules for contacting higher powers, but none regarding POW sacrifice or other suggestions to mix these two systems in the same setting.

There is an obvious overlap in powers between the two system, with few being unique to one or the other.

Asserting that I don't want to mirror RQ3 design exactly, I have concluded; however foolishly; that the most significant different between the systems is Skill Rolls vs. Always Works. While Sorcery doesn't not have the upper limit of being able to pump spells up to 1/2 INT, it is no stretch of the imagination to extend the system beyond its 1 - 3 levels Stormbringer roots.

Assuming I have not missed a vulgar difference between the two systems, would it be appealing to play with the one Magic System, but offer an option that characters could sacrifice permanent POW to an Arch Magi or God and gain the sorcerous ability to cast the spell with 100% success?

And don't forget Realism Rule # 1 "If you can do it in real life you should be able to do it in BRP". - Simon Phipp

My campaign currently uses all the power systems *except* the Magic System, so bearing that in mind... :D

I'd personally keep Magic and Sorcery as completely separate systems, even if you do use them both in the same game / campaign. The wizardly magic vs divine magic is a perfect example of how to do this.