Brand Spankin New to BRP (need some advice; Sci-Fi)

Loki

Long story short (too late, I know) I am new to BRP and want to run a sci-fi game, similar to Warhammer 40K (no, no Space Marines) meets Serenity. With that being said, I plan on going rules light for the first couple of games until everyone has everything solidified. My big question is, do you have any advice regarding things that would catch me off guard weapons wise? I plan on everyone having a good old fashioned pistol or sub-machine gun to start. I wanted to stay away from guass weapons, lasers, phasers, grenade launchers, alien beam weapons and other more exotic things. If you have any suggestions outside of weapons, I'm open to those too. ;t) Thanks!

BRP and weapons ... the only potential advice that comes to my mind

is that you should make a few "dry runs" before the actual game to get

a feeling for the lethality of firearms in BRP, because depending on the

roleplaying games you played until now it may well turn out that combat

in BRP is far more deadly than you are used to.

"Mind like parachute, function only when open."

(Charlie Chan)

I plan on giving them a little padding to protect them somewhat, but I definitely want it to be lethal. I just didn't know if there are some things I should immediately rule out in the first couple of things (hand held flame thrower for example). ;)